Letters (12): To Chard, From Rafi with Love

A/N: G00d day, EB readers!  Thank you for all your kind words for Before He Proposes, Before He Proposes (version 2) and Dor-Bel: Chika Mode On.

Thank you for your continued support of the Letters series: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11.

Overwhelmed by Rafi’s excitement about Richard’s news of his pending proposal to Maya, I finally found the inspiration to write this piece, Rafi’s heartwarming letter to his best friend, Chard!

This piece is also inspired by BCWMH episodes from August 16, 19-22, 2013. 

Happy reading, everyone!

Author: iamgarie

~*~

TO  CHARD,  FROM RAFI WITH LOVE

By iamgarie 

My dearest Chard,

Happiest birthday to you again, my best friend!

So, you are proposing to Maya soon, huh? Wow, Chard!  That’s the best news ever! Do you know what I did right after I hung up the phone? I screamed my lungs out and jumped like a crazy little kid on my bed! Then I called up Charlie to share with him your good news! I am so happy for you and Maya, Chard! And thank you, thank you, for letting me be the first one to know! You are indeed, my best friend in the whole world!

As I as said over the phone earlier, don’t even think about proposing in a restaurant, okay? That is soooo yesterday, Chard! Think of something as special and unique as Maya! She deserves THE best proposal ever! Ang bilis ha! You’ve really measured her ring finger na and you were subtle, huh? I surely hope so!  Di ka naman masyadong excited ‘no, Chard? So, go get the engagement ring done na. I already texted you the jeweler’s number. Hurry! Haha! And, of course always remember that if you do need my help, I’m just a phone call away, okay?

Chard, you promised! You’ll do tell your kids later, okay? I’m sure they’ll be so happy for you and Maya! Let me know how they react, okay? Or can you like take a video? I’m sure their reactions to your news will be priceless! Aww! How I wish I could be there with you when you tell them tonight!

Here I am thousands of miles away from you, grinning from ear to ear, as I excitedly go over all the photos of your birthday that Nikki posted on FB! Chard, you’re extremely happy! And I’m crying! No worries! These are happy tears, Chard! You’ve never been this happy in a long, long time! Even Alex must be so happy to see you this happy again! Thank God for Maya!

Chard, it looks like Maya made sure you had THE best birthday ever! I cannot believe it! You really wore a cowboy costume, Chard? Didn’t you tell me before how you hated it when Tita Esmeralda made you wear a cowboy costume for your cowboy themed birthday party as a child? So, was it Maya who convinced you to wear that? Ha! You don’t have to answer that, Chard! I know exactly what your answer will be… “Si Maya kasi…” Am I right or am I oh so right, Chard? Haha! Knowing how stubborn you are, I’m sure na si Maya lang ang naka-convince sa yo na mag-costume! And, matching pa kayo ha! Cute!

And Chard, did you really join all those parlor games? Wow! For the love of Maya, I’m sure! You are oh so in love, Mr. Lim! How I wish I could have been there for your birthday! You’ll never hear the end of it from me! Before, diba I found it so hard to ask you to even loosen up a little? But for Maya, Chard, you’ve learned to loosen up big time! Wow!

And to top all that, you even sang to Maya in front of a crowd! Whew! Are you really the very same Chard that I visited just last year– the one who didn’t even want to sing in front of his own family during videoke? Looking back, I’m suddenly reminded of the song you and Maya sang as a duet that night! Please Be Careful with My Heart, right? That song speaks perfectly about you and Maya, Chard! O diba, pati yung song nakisama. Even the videoke machine noticed that you and Maya liked each other na even then kaya it played the perfect song! Haha! May theme song na ba kayo ni Maya, Chard? Yun ang bagay na theme song nyong dalawa! You are her first and she’s your last romance, Chard! Awwww!

I am now looking at the photos of you and Tito Roberto singing Ligaya, and I’m like wow! (Nikki promised she’ll send me a video of this soon and I’m so excited, Chard!) I am amazed at how Maya has transformed you! You’re one happy man, my friend! I’m glad that Nikki was able to capture some really great shots of you and Maya, too! Oooh, boy! You simply can’t get enough of Maya, can you? You not only kissed her hand, you also hugged and kissed her pa on the cheek! In front of everyone, Chard!?! That is so unlike you! Oh, I am so touched! Awww! And by the looks of it, it seems like you made one very beautiful woman oh so happy that day, too! I felt Maya’s kilig leap out of my computer screen! And all your guests were radiating with happiness, as well– happy to see you happy! The best birthday ever, huh, Chard? I’m sure it was!

Seriously, Chard! I am so happy for you and Maya! My two best friends, happy and in love!  And everything is perfect! Tito and Tita are okay with Maya. Your kids are okay with Maya! Happiness, at last! That’s like the best feeling ever!

I still cannot believe it took you months, or close to half a year, to realize you were in love with her, Mr. Very Dense Lim! I was only there last year for like what? Two weeks? But I already knew that she felt something for you the moment I got there! I felt she got jealous big time when she saw me hug you! And Mr. Lim, admit it or not, you did get jealous of that Simon guy, too! You got so cranky everytime you heard someone mention his name. You were so protective of Maya even then. You didn’t want her to be away from you for far too long! Puro ka pa excuses!

And oh my! Chard! You unconsciously flirted with her on several occasions, and I can’t believe you were oblivious to your very own flirtations! Haha! I will never forget that scene you two made in the kitchen one morning when you asked her for coffee. You seriously flirted with Maya then, as you watched her (a very rattled Maya if I may say so!) make coffee for you. I saw that lingering look you gave her and that smile that slowly crept out of your lips, Chard! And then what was it that you said right after you took a sip of that coffee she made? “Parang mas masarap yung timpla mo ngayon, ah!” Chard, you left one utterly dazed, very giddy woman in the kitchen after that! And I was like all smiles, too! I thought to myself then, “My bestfriend and my new found friend are in love with each other and they don’t even know it yet! How cute!” Then during Nikki’s play, you even had Abby switch seats with Maya so Maya could sit beside you! Ano namang style yun, Chard? Kunwari ka pa you wanted to check out the Florante and Laura book she was holding, ha! Eh you could have easily borrowed the book naman from her without her and Abby switching seats, diba? I’m so sure you just wanted her to sit beside you lang! Ikaw talaga, o!

And after Nikki’s play, didn’t we all celebrate with a cake at home? And because Maya was away from the dining table and talking with someone on the phone pa, you didn’t even want anyone to start eating the cake without her!  Anong sabi mo nga? “Where’s Maya? Hindi pwedeng wala siya dito!” Haha! And remember the flowers Charlie sent me? Diba I wanted those thrown away sana? Remember what you did with the flowers? YOU gave them to Maya! Bakit sa kanya mo binigay, Chard? Pwede naman kay Manang Fe, kay Doris, kay Sabel, even kay Nikki or Abby mo ibinigay yun, ah! Why did you give them to Maya? Haha! Admit it na kasi! You were so in love with her na back then! You were just fighting off your feelings pa lang… And what about the plans for Abby’s birthday? You couldn’t even make plans without consulting Maya! What she thinks matters to you! So cute! Huli na kita nun pa lang, Mr. Lim! Come to think of it, even Abby already had an inkling about you two. Wasn’t she the one who named her pet parrots, Mai-Mai and Chief? Talo pa pala kayong dalawa ni Abby, eh! That early, even she knew that you were perfect for each other!

May I share a secret? I was so certain Maya was in love with you even then, she just wouldn’t admit it to me, or maybe even to herself yet. That day we had home spa, I actually asked her what she was looking for in man. Sabi niya yung dream man niya yung nakakapagpakilig sa kanya, yung nakapagpapatorete sa dibdib niya, yung nagpapakaba sa kanya. Yung mahal daw niya and mahal din siya. Masungit man daw siya, madamot mang ngumiti (Hindi ba ikaw yun, Chard? Haha!) basta daw alam niya na yung kasungitan niya eh nakakapagpakilig sa kanya at yung minsanan niyang pagngiti ay nakakapagpakaba sa dibdib niya yun na daw siguro yun! Chard, alam mo when she said that, I realized only one thing! I felt all those things for Charlie! I would’ve have lost Charlie had Maya not shared that with me! And for your information Mr. Sungit, even then, ikaw na yung dream man niya, okay? And I am so sure, even back then, you love her na, you just haven’t admitted it to yourself pa! Kayong dalawa talaga ni Maya, o.

Chard, you found yourself one amazing woman! Maya’s capacity for loving is just so much! She not only loves you, she loves all your kids, too! I saw how Maya was with Abby! She loves your little girl like she is her own. And she loves both Luke and Nikki just as much! You are so lucky to have her, Chard! She has so much love to give! She loves everyone you love. She’s a miracle worker, Chard! She embraced everything about you without any reservations. She’s truly a wonderful, wonderful woman! You are truly blessed to have her!

You know what, Chard? I am so happy to have you and Maya as my best friends! I love you and Maya so much. You, Maya, the kids, even sina Manang Fe, you’re all like family to me. I want to thank you for keeping me updated with the kids all the time and making good on your promise to keep me updated with your LOVELIFE(!!!), too!

You know what? I enjoyed all those Skype and phone calls we’ve made and continue to make where you tell me about Maya, or you share with me stories about you and Maya…! I am always left smiling after every conversation we have…! That call you made back in December asking me if I think Maya has a crush on YOU was my absolute favorite, Chard!!! My best friend– Mr. CEO and Chief Engineer, giddy with excitement at the thought that the girl he likes has a crush on him! Para ka lang si Luke ha (maybe I should tell Maya about that! Kikiligin yun, Chard! Alam mo, she Skyped me that same night, too! And she had questions about you! But I’m not going to tell you what she asked me! My lips are totally sealed!)… And then I also enjoyed that call you made on Valentine’s Day. Learning that you enjoyed THE day that you normally hated because you spent it with Maya made me smile ha! Aww! That was so sweet, Chard…! And Chard, thank you for calling me the minute after you first said ‘I love you’ to Maya because you needed advice! Chard, you just don’t know how you made me all excited then! Thank you for allowing me to feel and experience your love journey with Maya!

I love you both so much, Chard! You guys truly deserve each other! Thank you for always taking time to call me. I appreciate it! I’m glad that time and distance have not alienated us from each other! Thank you for being the most amazing best friend ever!

*******

Sorry, Chard! I got a teeny-weeny busy lang and forgot to finish this letter na.

When we got off the phone the other day, you said Maya’s Nanay and Lola are coming and you’re inviting them for dinner, diba? Parang perfect timing lahat Chard, ah! You’ve been given the perfect opportunity to ask Maya’s Nanay for her permission. So, did you? Tell Maya’s Nanay na? And have they had dinner with your parents? How was it, Chard? Tell me! Tell me!

Chard, I know you’ll get very busy in the next few days as you prepare and plan the best proposal ever, pero make sure you don’t neglect Maya, okay? Don’t make her feel you have less time for her na. Continue to be attentive to her, para she won’t feel like she’s not a priority to you! Be sensitive to her needs and feelings! Remember that disaster of a weeksary you had because of you? Naku, magagalit na naman ako sa yo, Mr. Lim, if something like that happens again! You know how sensitive we girls can be sometimes! And Maya can really be so sensitive at times, diba? She always tells me pa naman that you are THE best boyfriend there is. Don’t ever fail her! Don’t make her think otherwise! This is just a reminder lang naman, Chard! I have complete faith in you and your love for Maya! It’s just that sometimes when we make the perfect plans, we get too preoccupied kasi! And I don’t want that happening to you and Maya!

Oh, before I forget, let me ask again! Have you told the kids yet about proposing to Maya? So…? How was it? How was it? I’m dying to know, Chard! Give me a call soon.

I am so happy for you, Chard! After all the pain you and your kids have gone through, you totally deserve this! You deserve to be happy! Your kids deserve to be happy! And I’m glad that Maya is that one special woman that you now want to spend the rest of your life with! Mrs. Maya Dela Rosa Lim! Hmm, sounds nice, ‘no? Be honest now, how many times have you thought about that and have written that name on a piece of paper over and over again, huh, Mr. Teenager? Haha! Mrs. Maya Dela Rosa Lim. Mrs. Maya Lim. Mrs. Lim! Ahh! I know I’m making you blush na! Mr. & Mrs. Lim! Husband and wife.  Doesn’t that sound perfect? Ahahaha! Peace, Chard!

I am so looking forward to all the calls you’ll make to me soon as you give me a blow by blow account of your plans for the EPIC proposal! Nothing too cheesy or over the top, Chard, okay? Like I said, I have complete faith in you. I know you’ll be able to come up with a proposal that your dear, sweet Maya deserves!

Take a video of the proposal, Chard! Pleasssssse! For me! And of course for you guys na rin! I’m sure that someday, Luke, Nikki, Abby and your future kids will enjoy watching clips of your proposal to their Mama over and over again! Spread the love, Chard! Maybe even Luke and Nikki can make an MV for you and Maya!

Take care and God bless you and your wonderful family always, Chard! I hope to see you all soon!

Hugs and kisses to the kids and Maya!  Oops!  Hugs and kisses to the kids and Mrs. Maya Dela Rosa Lim pala! Haha!

Chard, I can actually see you smiling… You are truly one very happy man!

xoxo

Love,

Rafi

 

(Written: early morning, August 23, 2013)

 

*******

Allow me to give credit to BCWMH TV show’s brilliant writers as some lines and scenes from this letter were taken from the TV series.  Thank you.

 

 

35 thoughts on “Letters (12): To Chard, From Rafi with Love

  1. Pingback: Why Maya is the One – Part 2 | Excess Baggage

Whatcha think?

