Beauty and Madness – part 11

This is the continuation of Beauty and Madness – part 10 .

L’amour n’a pas de prix. (Love has no price.)

 

Maya and Rafi went inside a clothing boutique. Rafi wanted to buy something for Maya as a present.

Rafi: Ate Maya, can you fit this one? May pagbibigyan kasi ako, e magkasukat kayo nun eh!

Maya: Ganun ba? O sige, akin na!

Rafi chose a simple horizontal striped black and white dress. The length is until mid-calves.

Maya: Rafi! Sakto lang.

Rafi: Ate Maya, you look fantastic! Sige kunin ko na yan.

Maya: I’ll change, sandali lang ha!

Rafi: Ate Maya, you’re going with us on Saturday night, right?

Maya: Yes! Why?

Rafi: Hmmmm, wala naman!

Maya: So after ditto, san tayo pupunta?

Rafi: I want to buy stilettos. Size 6 ang kailangan ko. KAya lang hindi ko naman maisusukat size 8 ako eh!

Maya: Size 6. Gusto mo ako na lang din ang sumukat. Dun sa binili mo na damit, ang bagay dun color red stilettos.

Rafi: Oo nga ano? Sige, sige. I’m so excited na tuloy.

Maya: Dun tayo sa binibilhan ko ng shoes, Magagandang klase dun eh!

Rafi: Thanks Ate Maya talaga ha!

They went in a shoe store and look for stilettos but instead they found a pair of shoes with platform which matched the striped dress.

Rafi: Ate Maya pwede ka na palang model nyan!

Maya: Ikaw naman!

Rafi: I’ll just pay. And kain na din tayo, NAgugutom na ako eh!

Maya waited for Rafi. As she waited for her, she kept on thinking of the proposal. She wanted to cry that time but she can’t.  “Baka Makita ako ni Rafi magtanong pa yun. Anong idadahilan ko?”, she thought.

Rafi: Ate Maya.

Rafi kept on calling her but she’s in the moon.

Rafi: Ate mAya., hoy! Bakit natulala ka diyan!?

Maya: Naku sorry Rafi, may iniisip lang ako.

Rafi: Huwag mong isipin yun mahal ka nun!

Maya gave her a smile. After that they had their lunch. And in the afternoon, Maya brought Rafi to Richard’s shop.

Rafi: Closed naman shop ni Kuya.

Maya: Ihatid na lang kita sa bahay nyo.

Rafi: Sige Ate Maya, please.

Richard’s house is not that far in the shop.  Richard was nowhere to be found.

Maya: Ang busy ng kuya mo ah! Nasan na kaya nun?

Rafi: Maybe he’s working on the proposal thing.

Maya wanted to ask Rafi about the proposal but she rather not to.

Maya: Rafi, mauna na ko ha!

Rafi: Sige Ate Maya, salamat!

-*-*-*-*-*

Maya didn’t receive any call nor text from Richard until Friday morning. It was a busy day but she managed to do everything. That morning, she baked the triple chocolate cake that Richard requested. Her phone rung and Richard’s name appeared on the screen.

Maya: O! Bakit?

Richard: Good morning.

Maya: Ok na ‘yung cake. May kailangan ka pa?

Richard: Hayan ka na naman sinusungitan mo na naman ako.

Maya: Pa’nong hindi? E ngayon  ka lang nagparamdam.

Richard: NAgtampo naman ang bestfriend ko.

Upon hearing the word “bestfriend” made her irritated more.

Maya: Busy ako.

Richard: NAgtatampo nga. Tapos na yung mga ginagawa mo diyan, alam ko!

Maya: How did you know?

Richard: KAnina pa ko dito shop mo and I asked Doris to check on you.

Then Maya remembered that Doris was in and out of the kitchen.

Maya: Kaya pala.

Richard: Let’s have lunch.

Maya: Ikaw na lang.

Richard: Sige na, please.

Maya: Ok! Wait for me magpapalit lang ako.

Then she hung up the phone and called Doris.

Maya: Doris, yung mga cakes ha pakilagay sa cold room after. Then pakisabi kay Sabel sya na bahala sa icing.

Doris: Sige po Ma’am.

Then she saw Richard waiting for her on one of the tables.

Richard: Let’s go Ms.Sungit.

Maya: Alam mo ikaw ha! Ang dami mo nang utang sa akin,

Richard: I’m sorry. Kasi I need to finish all my work para free ako from tomorrow until next week.

Maya: You’re going to take a leave?

Richard: Of course.

Maya: San ka naman pupunta?

Richard: BAsta. I’ll tell you na lang after.Ok? Nga pala after natin maglunch, I want to see yung sinasabi mo na rooftop.

Maya: Nakausap ko na yung friend ko. Ok daw dun! ‘Yung sa arrangement nun ok na din. May kailangan ka pa? And one more thing, yung veggie lasagna mo ibigay mo sa kanila. Sila na ang bahala dun. Nagorder na din ako ng for appetizer, ng salad, saka drinks.

Richard: You did that?

Maya: Oo naman! I want your proposal to be perfect.

Richard: Wala namang perfect eh!

Maya: Ok! Almost perfect. Ayos na?

They went to a nearby resto. Maya is waiting for Richard to open up about this woman to whom he is about to propose. Since he’s not saying anything, Maya started to ask.

Maya: Kulit, sino ba yung girl na yun?

Richard: Sinong girl?

Maya: ‘Yung girlfriend mo.

Richard: girlfriend ko?

Maya: Oo, girlfriend mo. Magpopopropose ka na di ba?

Richard just gave him a smile.

Richard: Just eat.

Kumunot ang noo ni Maya which made Richard laughed.

Maya: What?

Richard: Nothing. At kalian ka pa naging curious about dun sa girl?

Maya: Ummm, ano, e! Wala. Kasi naman wala ka namang sinasabi na nililigawan mo. NApakalihim mo.

Richard: You will know tomorrow, ok?

Maya: Fine. Wala naman ako magagawa.

After their lunch, they went to that place.

Richard: Ang ganda ditto ah!

Maya: Lalo sa gabi ‘to. Makikita mo from here ‘yung mga lights.

Richard: Have you been here?

Maya: With Eds.

Richard: Kayo lang?

Maya: Oo. We usually go out and minsan ditto kami tumatambay.

Richard: You like it in here?

Maya: oo naman. Kasi parang relax yung atmosophere.

Richard: Ok. Bukas I’ll pick you up na lang sabay ka na sa amin ni Rafi.

Maya: Bakit kasama ako?

Richard: Di ba sabi mo you will help me?

Maya: Ikaw talaga! Sige na nga.

Even deep inside she’s hurting, she still said yes. Hindi nya maintindihan ang sarili nya why always agreeing with Richard.

Richard, on the other hand, felt so excited for tomorrow’s happenings.

Maya: Don’t worry. All set for tomorrow. Ako nang bahala. Maaga tayo pumunta ditto para maarrange ko pa yung iba.

May room diyan na pwede nating irent. Para dito ka na lang magbihis. May isusuot ka na?

Richard: Yes, meron na.

Maya: Let’s go. Para makapagpahinga ka. Makapagsalita ka kaya bukas?

Richard: I practiced already.

Maya: Nagpractice ka pero masasabi mo kaya.

Richard: I don’t know. Let’s see.

And all of a sudden, Richard hugged Maya.

Maya: O! BAkit?

Richard: I just want to thank you for this.

Pinipigilan ni Maya na huwag umiyak. She’s really hurting. But she needs to accept the fact that the man that she loves can’t be with her anymore.

Richard: I’ll be always thankful.

Maya: Baka naman maiyak ka pa nyan!

Richard: I’m serious.

Maya: Thanks for everything. Thanks for the friendship.

Everytime she’s hearing the word “friend”, it’s like a stab in her heart. She wanted to tell Richard that moment how much he means to her. How much she loves him. But she keeps mum. She didn’t want to ruin everything. She didn’t want to destroy the friendship they have. If that will be the reason for him to stay in her life, she’ll accept it.

Maya: HAtid mo na ko. Para makapagpahinga ka na din.

Richard: Let’s go.

Richard held the hand of Maya which made her unease. “Just let it Maya, you will never hold that hand again after.”

He drove her to her house.

Maya: Thank you.

Richard: so tomorrow, I’ll pick you up around 4?

Maya: What time is the dinner?

Richard: I’m planning at 8 para all settled?

Maya: Ya! 4 is ok. See you tomorrow. Ingat sa pagdidrive.

Maya went straight to her room. Lay down on her bed. She grabbed her pillow, and tears fell from her eyes. Her phone was ringing, it was Eds, but she didn’t want to talk to anybody.

Maya was talking to herself.

Maya: Hindi ko man lang naparamdam sa kanya kung gaano ko sya kamahal. Then these things happen. LAgi ka na lang iniiwan Maya. Do I deserve to be loved? Siguro nga I’m not the girl for him. Pero kung sinabi ko kaya, magbabago kaya ang plans nya? Pero parang hindi, when he called me bestfriend, hanggang dun lang yun. You are just friends.

Maya fell asleep. It was a tiring day indeed.

The following morning, she woke up  late for it is weekends and her off too. She chose the clothes the she will wear.

Maya: Ok na to. Pagpapawisan lang naman ako dun.

She chose a skirt (Beige) and a green top. And she matched it with brown sneakers.

4 pm.

NT: ‘nak sila Richard naghihintay na sa’yo sa labas.

Maya: Sige po nay alis na po kami.

NT: Ok ka lang ba?

Maya: Opo naman! Sige po. I love you nay.

NT: Ingat ha!

-*-*-*-*-*

Maya’s feet were so heavy. But she promised Richard that she will help him with these. They rented a room in that building and placed all their things.

Rafi: Wow! Ang ganda naman ditto.

Maya: SAndali lang ha. I check ko lang yung mga ginagawa nila sa taas.

She left Richard and Rafi in the room.

Rafi: Kuya do you think, it’ll work?

Richard: I’m hoping.

Rafi: She worked so hard for this and she didn’t know it’s for her.

Richard: Ayoko lang na makahalata sya. I wanted to surprise her.

Rafi: know what Kuya? Naniniwala na ko sa’yo. You have a better idea about this proposal.

Richard: I told you. Kaya yang uunderwater experience, erase that on your lists ok?

Meanwhile, sa rooftop.

Maya: Excuse me (Her voice is different. She’s getting mad to those who arranges the flowers.) Sinong nagayos dito?

Girl1: ako po.

Maya: Look at this. Dapat tinanggal mo yung mga dahon na tuyo na.

Girl 1: Sorry po hindi ko po napansin.

Maya: Ayusin mo yan!

Girl 1: opo, pasensya na po ulit.

Maya: Nasan ang table? Bakit wala pang nag-aayos?

Girl 2: Ma’am sandali lang naman po ayusin yun.

Maya: Anong oras na? It’s 6pm already. The dinner is at 8.

Girl 2: Sige po. Aayusin na po.

Maya: ‘Yung mga food, make sure nakaopen ang warmer mamaya ha!

Then when she turned around, nabunggo nya ang isang server.

Maya: Oh! NO! This couldn’t be.

Server: Ma’am sorry po. NAtapunan kayo.

Maya: Argggh! (she didn’t say a word, baka kasi iba ang lumabas sa bibig nya.)

Rafi: What happen Ate mAya?

Server: Pasensya na po talaga. Hindi kop o sinasadya.

Richard: What happen here?

Maya: I’m going home.

Richard: Hindi pwede.

Maya: Richard look at me, I didn’t bring any change of clothes.

Rafi: Wait Ate Maya. Kuya give me your keys. Rmember yung pinamili natin the other day, nasa kotse ni kuya eh!

Wait lang. Ate Maya maybe you should go in the room and take a shower. I’ll just bring the clothes.

Maya: Ok!

Richard: Maya, just relax. Mas stress ka pa yata sa  akin eh! Everything will turn out good. Etong arrangement it’s just an additional. What important is, she will say yes. Ok?

Maya nodded. She went to the room. And Rafi went to the parking area. Good thing nilagay nya yung bag sa kotse ng kuya nya.

Rafi: Ate Maya, here oh! Suot mo na.

Maya: DI ba s a friend mo to?

Rafi: It’s ok. I’ll just buy na lang ulit. Pati yung shoes isuot mo na.

Maya: Oo nga noh! Hindi naman bagay kung nakasneakers ako,

Rafi: Yan! E di nagsmile ka na! Don’t be stress out. Ok?

Maya put on the dress. She tied her hair.

Rafi: Ate Maya you look so pretty. Bagay sa’yo yung dress. It’s simple but elegant,

Maya: Thank you. Pero parang hindi naman appropriate etong suot ko.

Rafi: Ano ka ba? It’s ok. After the proposal we will join them sa dinner eh!

Maya: Talaga?

Rafi: Yes.

Maya is really a great pretender. ‘Yung tipong ok lang, all-out smile, even inside of her is contrast of what she’s showing outside.

Rafi: Let’s go sa taas. Tingnan natin kung ayos na.

They went sa rooftop.

Maya: Bakit ang dilim? Wala pa namang 8.

Rafi: Sandali lang Ate Maya, mauna ka na pala. May nakalimutan ako sa room.

Maya continued walking.

Maya: Excuse me, pwedeng pabuksan muna na ilaw, Gusto ko lang Makita yung arrangement.

Then they open the light. As she nearly approaching the table, Richard’s eyes were set on her and he started to sing.

Puno ang langit ng bituin

At kaylamig pa ng hangin

Sa’yong tingin ako’y nababaliw giliw

At sa awiting kong ito

Sana’y maibigan mo

Ibubuhos ko ang buong puso ko

Sa isang munting harana

Para sa’yo.

Tahimik pa din si Maya. Richard is getting closer to her.

Richard: You never fail to amuse me. I never thought of falling in love again. I’m really not sure when it started, how or when. One thing I know, I have to tell you how much you mean to me. Kahit ang sungit-sungit mo, may pagkasuplada sometimes, still nothing change what I feel for you. I love you and I will always do.

Maya couldn’t look at him straight in his eyes. He lifted her chin up.

Richard: I can see my life with you, everyday with you.  Will you marry me?

She paused for a moment…

Maya: Yes! Yes!

Richard hugged her. And when he is about to place the ring on her finger, Maya tapped his shoulder really hard.

Richard: Aray! Bakit?

Maya: Ang galling mo ah! Praktisadong praktisado ka. Tinuruan ka ni Rafi noh? Ok na yung lines. Pasado na sa akin.

Sige balik na ko sa room.

She turned her back and walk away.

Richard: Maya, wait!

Maya: BAkit?

Richard: Anong sinasabi mo?

Maya: ang alin?

Richard: What practice?

Maya:Kulit sige na, baka dumating na yung girl. MAgready ka na dun.

Richard: She’s here already.

Maya: O kita mo na? Sige na bumalik ka na dun.

Richard: I can’t believe this. What are you talking about?

Maya: what am I talking about? Di ba proposal mo?

Richard: oo nga!

Maya: So pumunta ka na dun. And ako naman pupunta muna sa room. Mamaya na lang kami akyat ni Rafi.

Richard: Can you please stop walking and listen to me? Okay! Okay! I don’t know how I’m going to start now.

Maya’s heart was beating so fast.

Richard: Can you please turn around and look at me? … Listen… I met a girl. The first time I saw her, she’s really broke. Where, I thought she will commit suicide. Before, everytime I saw her crying, I wanted to cry too. She doesn’t deserve all of those. I saw her at the front of the church crying. Kung alam lang nya, I felt like I was breaking into pieces. It’s a weird feeling kasi hindi ko sya gaanung kakilala. But I had the chance of knowing her, to be with her. Isaw at fishball lang mapapangiti mo na sya. To be with her is a different kind of feeling. I started to fall in love with her. I was so afraid to tell her, kasi hindi ko alam kung ok nab a talaga sya na magmahal ulit.

Maya listened attentively to Richard. Tears were flowing from her eyes. She’s overwhelmed by what Richard is telling her.

Richard: She went with me to buy this ring. And all these ideas for proposal galing sa kanya.

Richard is getting nearer to Maya.

Richard: I’m so inlove with this girl. And I hope she feels the same way, too.

Maya: Nakakainis ka!

Richard: Why are you crying?

Maya: Ikaw kasi eh!

Richard: Why me?

Maya: Akala ko kasi…

Richard: Akala mo ano?

Maya: eiiI! Nakakahiya eh! (She hid her face.)

Richard: Tell me.

Maya: akala ko kasi you’ll propose to somebody else.

Richard: May nabanggit ba ko?

Maya shook her head.

Richard: So! Can I ask you again? Will you marry me?

Maya: Proposal agad wala bang ligaw muna?

Richard looked at her. It’s like telling her that he’s waiting for her answer.

Maya: What?

Richard: I’m waiting for your answer.

Maya: Saan?

Richard: Hay! Maya, magpapakasal ka ba sa akin o hindi?

Maya: Pag-iisipan ko…. Oo.

Richard: Really?

Maya: Oo nga. Isuot mo na ;yung singsing baka magbago pa isip ko.

Richard put the ring on her finger and hugged her tight,

Richard: I love you so much.

Maya: I love you more than you’ll ever know.  Ang daya-daya mo talaga.

Richard: You didn’t ask me so paano mo malalaman.

Richard’s face is an inch close from hers.

Richard: I don’t know how to kiss.

Maya: It’s ok. I’ll teach you how.

(Sorry po,  hindi ko alam kung paano isulat yung about sa kiss. Just create your own thoughts. Hehe. Pasensya na po.)

Definitely, may kasunod pa po ito. SO wait na lang po. Thanks.

One thought on “Beauty and Madness – part 11

  1. Pingback: Beauty and Madness – part 12 | Excess Baggage

Whatcha think?

