Why Maya is the One – Part 2

A/N: Come November 15, 2013, our favorite TV characters, Maya dela Rosa and Richard Lim, finally wed each other in a groundbreaking, monumental TV moment dubbed as The Fairytale Wedding of the Year.

For sentimental reasons, I felt the need to write a sequel to Why Maya is the One (an introspection by Sir Chief), the first ever piece I submitted here in Excess Baggage back in April.

So much has happened between Richard and Maya since then.  Now, almost 7 months later, here is Why Maya is the One – part 2.

Let me warn you now.  This is going to be a really long read.  But I hope you’ll read it anyway and  enjoy it.    I would love to read about your thoughts and comments, too!

Thank you and God bless.

And of course, best wishes to our happy couple, Maya and Richard!

Author: iamgarie

~*~

 

WHY MAYA IS THE ONE – Part 2
by iamgarie

After years of mourning, here I am. No longer grieving and lost. No longer hopeless and in pain. No longer unhappy and miserable. No longer dreading the future and what tomorrow brings. No longer cranky and irritable. No longer sad and angry. No longer devoid of silly smiles and happy thoughts. No longer afraid to embrace life and its uncertainties. No longer afraid to trust and to have faith in people. No longer afraid to love and live again. I have truly become the total opposite of what I once was. I no longer yearn for Alex, yet I shall always remember her with love and gratitude for the life we shared together and for our three wonderful children. Yes, I have finally come to accept that Alex is gone.

Isn’t it amazing how one’s life can change when he finally meets the purpose for his existence? Yes, I have finally found the one, my reason for being. Everything changed when I met her. She is now the air I breathe. She is the reason for my many smiles and laughter. The reason for my happy thoughts and endless dreams. The reason why I want to wake up every morning and to do better, to be better. The reason why I have become a better father. The reason why my children and I have become closer than ever. The reason why thoughts of the future and the idea of forever excite me. The reason why I am extremely happy, hopeful and complete. The reason why I have learned to love and live again. Yes, after many years of mourning, I am finally alive because I have her, my dear Maya, the woman I want to spend the rest of my life with.

I am Richard Lim. Devoted Fiance. Loving Father. Caring Son. Loyal Friend. Supportive Boss. CEO and Chief Engineer of Lim Aviation Services. Business is more than good. But life is even better. I have the unconditional love and support of my family– my kids-Luke, Nikki and Abby, and Mama and Papa. And the love and faith of my beloved Maya dela Rosa, the woman I am to marry tomorrow. My Mrs. Lim. God is truly gracious!

It has only been a little over a year since I met Maya, yet in the short time that we have gotten to know each other, we have indeed come a long way. Had my once trusted friend, Fred, told me the first time Maya and I met that we were bound to end up together, I would have cast him the most incredulous look I could muster and I would have told him in no uncertain terms that he is crazy to ever think that because that will never ever happen! (Come to think of it, it was Fred who did insinuate early on that Maya could be someone special for me, but I kept brushing him off then.) Fred reached out to me just recently, and we have finally made amends. I have invited him to our wedding, as well.

Yes, bestfriend Rafi, I am smiling, and it’s all because of my beautiful wife to be, the love of my life! Thoughts of her may never escape me for as long as I live. Isn’t it amazing that every little thing that catches my attention now reminds me of her? And how is it that everything somehow leads me to her? Maya is truly the One!

And now that she and I are about to exchange vows and embark on that journey to our happy ever after, I cannot help but reminisce how I finally had the courage to woo her– my funny, lovely, crazy, sweet, silly, witty, caring, thoughtful, charming, adorable and beautiful Maya! Come to think of it, I will never stop remembering nor will I ever gettired of telling our story.

  ~*~

Chapter 1 .
Richard to Manang Fe: MAYA AND I, WE’RE DATING
.

“THE WORLD IS FULL OF SURPRISES. YOU’LL NEVER KNOW WHEN YOU’LL FALL IN LOVE AGAIN… I SAID ‘I LOVE YOU.’ SHE SAID ‘I LOVE YOU’ BACK…”

There. I finally said it! It may seem like it just came out, but I truly meant it! I meant every word. I love Maya! It took me almost forever to finally realize I was in love with her. And when I finally did, I was a goner! Rafi has been right all along. I have been in love with her for the longest time! I just kept denying myself of that reality, perhaps thinking that it’s not the right time to fall in love just yet. I know I shouldn’t even bother her at this point in her life. She’s still young… She should be living her dream. Dapat masaya lang siya. She deserves the very best, not someone with an excess baggage like me. But I love Maya so much. The mere thought of her falling for someone else, the likes of James Ventura or Simon, breaks my heart…

‘I love you.’ I never expected to hear Maya say those three words right back at me. Did she really mean what she said? Does she really love me, too? And did she really mean it when she said that she does not see me as a man with a lot of excess baggage? That I’m the unexpected bonus in her life? Am I really one of her fairy tales come true? If I am, does this mean she feels the same way that I do? Does she see me as the man in her life? Now that that realization has finally dawned on me, I am not giving her up. BECAUSE I LOVE HER!

Knowing Maya, I am certain she has a lot going on in that pretty head of hers– her worries, the kids, her dreams. But I know we can manage. We will! Hindi ko siya mamadaliin. I will wait for her no matter how long it takes.

“LOVING MAYA DID NOT COME INSTANTLY. I FELL IN LOVE WITH HER GRADUALLY. NAKILALA KO MUNA SIYA. KUNG SINO SIYA. KUNG ANO SIYA… KAYA KO SIYA MINAHAL.”

When Nanay Teresita, Mamang, and Cho arrived for Maya’s graduation, I knew it was only right to let Nanay Teresita know that Maya and I are dating, so I told her. As I expected, Nanay had a lot of questions, fears and concerns about my relationship with her daughter. Nanay feared for Maya’s dreams no longer becoming a reality. I reassured her that I will never, ever come in the way of her dreams. After all, I witnessed firsthand how hard she worked to attain all of them. Nanay feared that our differences in social status might become a problem between me and Maya. She also asked if I was ready to introduce her to everyone, even to my kids. I answered all her worst fears as honestly as possible. I am so proud of Maya! I will never ever be embarrassed to introduce her to everyone as the woman I truly love! I have learned to love and embrace everything about her. I love her! And once she is ready to let everyone know about us, I would love to introduce her especially to my kids.

“LOOK ALEX, I WANT TO TELL YOU SOMETHING. I MET SOMEONE. AND THINGS HAVE BEEN WONDERFUL. I KNOW NOTHING CAN REPLACE WHAT WE HAD BECAUSE YOU GAVE ME THREE WONDERFUL CHILDREN… BUT I KNOW YOU’D WANT ME TO HAVE A LIFE. AND I CAN SEE THAT HAPPENING WITH HER, ALEX. I CAN SEE IT WITH MAYA. SHE MADE ME SMILE AGAIN. SHE MADE EVERYONE SMILE. KAHIT NA SI MANANG FE. I GUESS IT’S HER WAY. SHE ALWAYS FINDS A REASON TO BE HAPPY. NAKAKAHAWA… HINDI KO PA NASASABI SA MGA BATA. BUT DON’T WORRY. I’LL GIVE THEM TIME. HINDI KO SILA BIBIGLAIN. I HAVE TO GO, ALEX. GOODBYE.”

I never thought there would ever come a day that I would go see Alex to finally bid her goodbye, and tell her I’m in love with someone other than her– with my dear Maya. But I did. In front of Alex, I could not even hide the smile that crept up my face as thoughts of Maya and our future together invaded my mind and my heart. I am finally alive… and in love. All thanks to Maya.

“I’M SO PROUD OF YOU, MAYA. YOU’RE FINALLY READY TO FLY.”

I really am. She singlehandedly made her dreams come true. How many people can do the things she did? Her circumstances in life never stopped her from pursuing her dreams and making them a reality. Maya is truly an admirable woman. And yes, I am so proud of her, and what she has accomplished.

I never thought I would ever allow myself to miss Maya’s graduation. It’s an important day for her. The day when one of her fairytales becomes real. But then I still missed her graduation, anyway. I didn’t want to, but I knew I had to, so that I could give her the best gift I could ever think of. To deliver her sister Kute on stage to pin her wings. Nikki called me a hero for saving the day and for riding the MRT, a first for me! When I finally reached the graduation venue minutes after the ceremony ended, Maya managed to surprise me with the three words I have longed to hear from her again. ‘I love you,’ she said, as we hugged each other tight. I was caught off guard. Too stunned by her words, I was rendered speechless by the surreality of the moment. Did she really mean it this time? Truth be told, I was simply too scared to ask.

*******

At the most romantic place in San Nicolas

Maya: Nung sinabi mo na mahal mo ko, gusto ko rin agad ibalik sa yo yun. Gusto ko ipagsigawan sa buong mundo na mahal din kita. Kaya lang, Ser Chief, hindi naman simple yung sitwasyon natin, eh.
Richard: Kaya nga kita binigyan ng time.
Maya: Hindi naman time yung kelangan ko, Ser Chief… IKAW! Kelangan ko na sabihin mo sa kin na everything will be okay. O di kaya, we’ll deal with it later. O yung kung ano yung sinasabi mo palagi pagninenerbyos ako.
Richard: Bakit ka ninenerbyos?
Maya: Ngayon lang ako nagmahal, eh…

Richard: Just say it, Maya!
Maya: Mahal kita.
Richard: I can’t hear you.
Maya: MAHAL KITA!
Richard: So, TAYO NA?
Maya: Eh di pa nga tayo tapos mag-usap, eh. Yayayain mo na ko umalis.
Richard: Maya, ibig kong sabihin. TAYO NA. TAYONG DALAWA. YOU AND ME. TAYO? TAYO NA, DIBA? TAYO NA, DIBA? Wala ng bawian yan.

Maya: Pero sandali lang, Ser Chief ha… Pero nung briefing namin wala naman sinabi na may VIP na sasakay. Eh diba VIP ka sa Time Airways?
Richard: I have my ways. Besides, Maya, I’m just a regular guy who wants to accompany his GIRLFRIEND on her first day of work.
*******

Chapter 2.
Richard to his 3 kids: YOU KNOW I’M DATING, RIGHT? SHE’S ALREADY MY GIRLFRIEND… YES. MAYA IS MY GIRLFRIEND… YES. I LOVE HER…

“BUT YOU’RE NOT HAPPY. YOU SAID AYAW MONG MA-BURDEN AKO DUN SA DETAILS AND CONCERNS REGARDING OUR RELATIONSHIP. BUT I DON’T WANT YOU TO SACRIFICE HOW YOU FEEL JUST SO YOU CAN ACCOMMODATE ME ALL THE TIME. I HAVE TO DO MY PART, TOO.”

Just like all new relationships, Maya and I went through some adjustments in the beginning. Yes, we had various issues to address, too. Can you believe she wanted to call me Babe? And when I didn’t agree, she then called me Chieko (short for Sir Chief ko). Even if that term of endearment doesn’t exactly suit me, I allowed her to call me Chieko just to make her happy. At some point she also wanted to call me Buko (short for Buhay ko.) Then what is this thing with weeksaries, anyway? I know anniversaries are celebrated. But a weeksary? What’s that? It’s not even a word one can find in the dictionary. I will never forget the look on Maya’s face when she realized I forgot it was our weeksary. Ha! She was way too happy to hand me her gift, while I had no gift for her at all.

I am glad that Maya and I had since talked about our issues and we’re okay now. Communication is key. I’ve learned my lesson, too. And because I did, I was the first to greet her on our first monthsary (another word one won’t find in the dictionary!) I shall never forget the happiness that radiated from her face then. For Maya, even the simplest of things count and have meaning. She’s very sentimental. And I have learned to love that about her, too!

“PRECISELY, IT’S OUR FAMILY KAYA KASAMA KA… MAYA, YOU’RE A PART OF MY LIFE NOW. YOU’RE A PART OF EVERY DECISION I MAKE. WE’RE IN THIS TOGETHER, REMEMBER? WHAT’S MAKING YOU ANXIOUS? WHATEVER THEY THINK OF YOU WON’T CHANGE HOW I FEEL ABOUT YOU… I’M JUST GLAD WE DIDN’T GIVE UP. IT WAS WORTH ALL THE EFFORT.”

Who would’ve thought that my daughter, Nikki, who has been very close to Maya for quite some time now would be vehemently against her as my girlfriend? That Luke would feel annoyed because Maya and I kept our relationship a secret from him and his siblings? That Mama would make things hard for Maya just because she finds her lacking? That Papa would be against me marrying her and having children with her, thinking she’s just after my money?

Maya is an amazing woman to have withstood everything she experienced with my family. I find myself even more in awe of her. She simply did not give up on them. And more importantly, she did not give up on us. She literally and figuratively held my hand as we patiently waited for my kids and my parents’ love and acceptance. And when I was in the brink of giving up on my very stubborn Papa because he simply wouldn’t budge, Maya stood her ground and insisted I make amends with him. All is well now. My kids love Maya like she’s their very own mom, and Mama and Papa love her as if she is their very own daughter. They are all excited not just about the wedding, but what lies ahead!  During dinner tonight, Nikki talked about how she’s looking forward to all the girl talks she and Maya will have, while Abby got all excited at the prospect of storytelling with Maya every night.  Papa can only smile, shake his head, and say, “Mukhang madaming kaagaw ang Daddy niyo kay Maya, ah.”

***
Opening Remarks for the Hangar Launch

We could have been here 5 years ago. That was Lim Aviation’s original plan. But a project such as this is never easy. This requires a lot of work, preparation and study… because change is never easy… It took sometime before we got everything right. And even then, something always came up. Another problem… another hurdle… The timing was never right. Until we realized: There’s no such thing as perfect timing! One could never foresee, let alone prepare for everything. More than the research and the number, what we needed was A LEAP OF FAITH. Faith that change can be good. Faith that this project is worth it. Faith that whatever happens, we can and we’ll get through it. Ultimately, it is our faith in each other that will ensure the success of this endeavor.
So tonight, we are celebrating not just the launch of this new hangar, but the courage it took to believe in something worthwhile… To fight for it and to work for it!
With that, I would like to thank everyone who took that leap of faith with me: our staff, our engineers, everyone, including our families!
Physics makes our planes fly, but it is the people we love who makes our planes soar.
Thank you.
***

“PHYSICS MAKES OUR PLANES FLY, BUT IT IS THE PEOPLE WE LOVE WHO MAKES OUR PLANES SOAR.”

The night I had Maya as my date at the hangar launch was truly an evening to remember. She was the most beautiful woman in the launch that night. She took my breath away with her beautiful purple dress! My princess looked absolutely stunning! I proudly paraded and introduced her to everyone as my girlfriend. I could not help but hold her hand and stare into her beautiful doe-shaped eyes all night. And yes, she was wonderful that night. She charmed everyone with her beauty, wit and humor. She was simply amazing and everyone was in awe of her. I once again realized how blessed I am to have her in my life. I am truly the luckiest man alive, the happiest man in love!

“IT’S BEEN AWHILE SINCE WE WERE THIS HAPPY… NA-MISS KITA SA BAHAY. I CAN SEE YOU LIVING THERE WITH US KASAMA ANG MGA BATA.”

It’s true. When Maya lef the house, I felt lost and incomplete. In the eyes of many, she may just be the nanny of my youngest daughter, Abby. But to me, she has become more than that even before we started dating and before I finally admitted to myself that I love her. She has literally become my friend and my confidante, my SANCTUARY– the one person I would untiringly seek out to talk to, to share a quiet moment with, or even share a cup of coffee with after I come home from a very busy day at work. She’s always had a way of making me smile, of making me see things in a positive light, of calming my nerves and relieving me off my stress. Come to think of it, she has even become my partner not just in bringing up Abby, but Luke and Nikki, as well. Every nook and cranny of my house reminds me of her. I really felt so lost, so empty and incomplete the day she finally left us to live in Emman’s condo. As much I said that my only concern was how Abby would accept and adjust to the situation then, I could not admit even to myself how lost, empty and incomplete I felt after she left.

Maya is the sweetest! On our first monthsary, she decided to forego our movie date in exchange for an evening with Nikki who was then too lonely and bored while nursing her swollen foot. The non-appearance of Nikki’s friends for the slumber party that she busily prepared for all day, led Maya to spend an evening at the mansion just so to help Nikki feel better. Together with Emman, Nikki had a blast bonding with Maya as they talked about, among all things, crushes! Was Nicolo right in assuming that Maya talked about me as her crush? And later that night, I even got to surprise Maya with an evening to remember as I asked her on a date in the garden and handed her my monthsary gift. Over popcorn and wine, together we watched DVD, and accidentally fell asleep in each other’s arms while we were seated on the bench by the garden. It was the best date ever.

When it rained during breakfast the next day, I cannot believe I did what I did. I allowed everyone to spend the morning playing in the rain. Maya asked ever so nicely, and yes, I did not have the heart to say no! That moment was priceless. The noisy chatter and laughter of everyone made even the house happy!

“MANANG, THAT’S THE WOMAN I WANT TO SPEND THE REST OF MY LIFE WITH.”

After my birthday party, seeing Maya sleeping with my three kids at the backseat of my car while waiting for me was pure bliss. The moment was perfect, because I had everything I needed, and everything I ever wanted inside that car. My four beautiful treasures. The loves of my life.

I am never letting Maya go. I am finally ready to take the next step. I hope she’s ready to take that leap of faith, as well.

“MAYA, THANK YOU FOR THE BEST BIRTHDAY EVER… JUST BECAUSE I DON’T SAY IT FIRST, IT DOESN’T MEAN NA HINDI KITA MAHAL. I DO LOVE YOU. MORE THAN YOU’LL EVER KNOW.”

The time and effort she put in preparing for my birthday is a testament of her love for me. We may not have been in good terms while she prepared for my birthday party as that was the time when my father had yet to budge, but she gave me a birthday celebration worth remembering, the best I’ve ever had. And I also did not mind making a fool of myself in front of all my guests just to prove to Maya that I seriously wanted us to get past our arguments regarding my Papa. I wore the cowboy costume she prepared for me. I joined all the parlor games she prepared for the party. And I even surprised her and everyone with a song from me and my Papa. (Yes, Papa and I were able to settle our issues that day.) I was glad to have made Maya smile. And of course, I did thank her for my best birthday ever.

“PA, I DON’T THINK THIS CAN WAIT. I’M PROPOSING TO MAYA.”

Why? She is clearly the woman I want to spend the rest of my life with. No one else can ever come to take her place. She is the one!

***
Ms. Abueg, the ringmaker: Mr. Lim, is it different this time?
Richard: Ang alin?
Ms. Abueg: Yung pagpapakasal mo?
Richard: Yes. Iba siyempre yung first time. You have no experience, and you don’t know what to expect, you just plunge in. Pero you know the feeling? Yung kaba? Yung excitement? It’s still there. I guess it’s because it’s another woman I’m going to marry, and this will be a whole different experience. I guess the only difference is that I’m more confident now that I can face everything that comes afterwards.
Ms. Abueg: She’s a lucky girl then.
Richard: Well, I hope she sees it that way.
Ms. Abueg: She will.
***

“ALAM KONG ALAM MO NA. HINDI MO LANG ALAM KUNG KELAN. WELL, TONIGHT’S THE NIGHT…”

The proposal could very well have been dubbed as a comedy of errors. Maya thought I was cheating on her as she caught me with Ms. Abueg at Moon’s Brews Cafe. And because she was fuming mad, she prepared the worst ever coffee I had ever drunk when I visited her that night. The only way Emman (thanks to what he learned from Mamang and Nanay) could pacify her was to let her in on a secret: that I’m proposing soon and the woman I actually met with is the ringmaker! Before long, my giddy, loving Maya is back. Little did I realize that when I asked her on a date the next day, she thought I would be proposing. During our dinner date, my funny, silly Maya made a thorough search of the ring in every food and beverage that was delivered on our table. And when I finally brought her home, and I went down on my knees to tie my shoelace, I was too shocked to hear her say ‘Yes! Yes, Sir Chief!’ As I was oblivious to what was happening, I did not realize then what the yes meant. The next day, all thanks to Mama, I finally found out that Maya already knows I’m proposing! Whew! What a rollercoaster ride indeed! She knows and I know she knows.

And I am just glad I was still able to pull out a gallant surprise for her. At the cruise where we were supposed to have had our first date, I proposed to Maya, and yes, I was ecstatic to hear her say yes! That one moment, one of our most precious moments, will forever be etched in my heart. She was even wearing the same little black dress she wore during Luke’s prom. Wow! And I simply had to savor the moment then. I called the waiter and said, “Pwede magpa-take kami ng picture ng fiance ko?” I simply had to hear myself say it. Fiance. How I love the sound of it.

IT WAS THE BEST OF TIMES. IT WAS THE WORST OF TIMES.

My family and Maya’s family were all filled with immense joy the night we had the pamamanhikan in San Nicolas. It was a night full of so much fun and laughter. It felt like the whole of San Nicolas came to celebrate my engagement to Maya. It felt like nothing could dampen everyone’s mood. My drunken state and Papa’s drunken state were a delight for everyone to witness.

Then the unexpected happened. Mamang no longer woke up from her sleep the next morning. Her sudden demise shocked everyone. And my dear Maya who loved Mamang dearly was suddenly in deep pain and agony. And all I could do was stay beside her and hold her close as I helped her overcome Mamang’s loss. Having experienced loss myself, I could not help but worry about Maya. I hoped and prayed she would recover soon. I vowed that I would be by her side at all times to lessen her pain. Thankfully, she’s all better now. Her positive vibe helped her deal with Mamang’s loss, I guess.

Chapter 3:
Richard to Maya: MAYA, WE’RE ALLREADY ENGAGED AND WE’RE GETTING MARRIED.

“I WAS HOPING THAT WE’LL DO THIS. TAYONG DALAWA… YOU’RE ALREADY A MOTHER TO MY CHILDREN. YOU BELONG HERE, MAYA. I WANT YOU TO MAKE THIS YOUR HOME, TOO.”

The truth is, Maya became Luke, Nikki and Abby’s Mama a long time ago… Even before I realized how much she means to me, long before I even pursued her. She has gone beyond the call of duty, and gave my kids a taste of what they lost and have always longed for when Alex left– attention, love, patience, understanding and care. She made an effort to make me realize what my kids needed and craved for. True! Had it not been for her, I may have forever lost my kids, too! She’s already an amazing Mama to Luke, Nikki and Abby! And now that we’re getting married, I’m all too excited to have more children with her. I also want to get the house fixed and redecorated to her liking.  It will be her home as much as it is mine.

“MANANG, HINDI KO PO KAKAYANIN PAG MAY NANGYARI KAY MAYA.”

Then in the midst of all our wedding preparations, Maya got sick. The dreaded dengue virus hit her and I was in shock. I was scared out of my wits! I may have seemed all calm and composed in front of my family and friends during the whole ordeal. But deep inside, I was trembling in fear, too scared to lose the reason for my being. All I hoped and pray for was that she recover soon. And I am truly grateful that after my many days of misery, Maya finally recovered. Thank you, Lord.

“PLEASE DON’T GET MAD AT ME. AND WAG KA NA RIN MABIGLA. I FOUND YOUR FATHER… I’M SORRY. I DIDN’T MEAN TO DO IT. AHM, NAISIP KO LANG NAMAN NA HANAPIN ANG FATHER MO AFTER MAMANG DIED BECAUSE YOU WERE SO SAD THEN…”

One thing is certain. Maya has never stopped loving her father in spite of his absence in her life. Her face always lit up whenever she shared stories about her father to me.  She loved retelling the story over and over again of how her Nanay and Tatay fell in love, how they professed their love in the most romantic place in San Nicolas, and how she took it upon herself to celebrate her Nanay and Tatay’s anniversary as she went on a date with Nanay every single year. When we took Abby to the zoo last year, I remember how her eyes lit up and how excited she was to go with us, as she was reminded of her father’s promise to take her to the zoo as a little girl.  When we went to Baguio last year, I can remember how excited she was as the place reminded her of her Tatay and her Nanay again, as that was where her Tatay bought the blanket that her Nanay uses up to this day.  As her graduation was nearing, we once again talked about her Tatay, and how it was his dream for Maya to become a flight attendant someday.  Maya never kept it a secret  from me that she longed for her Tatay and wished to see him again someday.  She even secretly hoped to accidentall bump into during one of her flights.

When Maya and I were preparing for the wedding, I thought that bringing him back would be perfect for her, so I hired someone to search for him.  Maya and her Tatay have finally met and talked after 15 years without contact, and she has since forgiven him. Knowing Maya, I’m sure she would be so much happier if her Tatay could come to her wedding.  But Maya, the selfless woman that she is, doesn’t want to see either Nanay or Kute hurt by his presence.  It will always be her loved ones’ happiness first before hers.  I wonder if Nanay and Kute have since changed their minds after they have each had a chance to talk with Tatay Arturo.  It would be one beautiful surprise for Maya if Tatay Arturo could grace our wedding with his presence…

HEARING HER CALL ME RICKY IS MUSIC TO MY EARS.

I have been Ser Chief for so long. And as much as I loved hearing her call me that, I loved it even more when she started calling me by my nickname. It felt so right.

***
Richard: What’s going on, Maya?
Maya: Mahal na mahal kasi kita, eh. Kaya siguro natakot ako.
Richard: Na ano?
Maya: Na mawala ka.
Richard: (smiles) San naman ako pupunta?
Maya: Eh, kasi diba, ang dami-daming nangyayari ngayon tapos nung isang araw naisip ko na baka na baka ano… Baka tulad ni Tatay bigla mo din akong iwan. Kasi ang saya-saya ko na nga, eh. Hindi ko alam kung anong gagawin ko pag nangyari yun, pag bigla kang nawala.
Richard: You really think I would do that?
Maya: Oh. hindi. Oo. Naisip ko. Alam kong mali.
Richard: Yes. Mali.

Richard: Section 3B, item 1. What are your views on intimacy? (Reads Maya’s answer) ‘Ang intimacy ay parang rosaryo, puno ng misteryo.’ Ano ‘to? Slumbook?
Maya: Hindi!
Richard: Intimacy is basically being emotionally and physically connected to one another… And sa mag-asawa, we have to make love…
***

WEDDING THEMES: AVIATION, FAIRYTALE, KAPIT-BISIG!

Knowing that everyone is excited to help out in the wedding, my selfless bride to be happily involved not just me, but also the kids, Mama, Rafi, and Nanay in planning all the wedding details. Definitely, kapit-bisig at its finest. The Aviation theme is perfect for the wedding ceremony and invitations as they tell who we are– I am an aviation engineer while Maya is a flight attendant. The Fairytale theme for the wedding reception is perfect as it tells the extraordinary story of how the ‘magandang prinsesang matipid (?) magsalita’ ended up in the kingdom of the ‘masungit na mahal na hari’ and fell in love not just with him, but with his children– the 2 beautiful princesses and the handsome prince–, too. It will surely be a wedding to remember for everyone.

“I, MAYA DELA ROSA, TAKE YOU, RICHARD LIM, AS MY WEDDED HUSBAND. TO HAVE AND TO HOLD. FOR BETTER OR WORSE. FOR RICHER OR POORER. IN SICKNESS AND IN HEALTH. TIL DEATH DO US PART… HAH!”

Seeing Maya covered by a veil, holding a bouquet, and hearing her giddily recite her vows inside Corinne’s office almost six weeks ago was truly a sight to behold. Listening to her practice reciting the vows that would bind us forever felt so surreal. She is, after all, a dream come true. And up until this moment, a day before our wedding, I still cannot believe that she’s marrying me. Best of all, tonight is the last night I will be sleeping alone. From tomorrow onwards, my lovely wife and I will sleep and wake up in each other’s arms. How blessed can one man be in one lifetime?

FATE, DESTINY, SERENDIPITY

I believe that Maya and I are truly a fortunate stroke of serendipity! I still cannot help but wonder, though. Destiny found various ways to have Maya and me meet, but what if we never did? How would my life have turned out if Maya and I didn’t bump into each other at the San Nicolas Airport, if my car hadn’t almost crashed into her at Jones Bridge, or if Abby hadn’t dared explore the airport, got into an almost accident, and Maya had not come to her rescue only to be scolded, shouted at, and accused of being a kidnapper by me? Would my life have turned out differently had Maya not come along? What would’ve become of me if our paths never crossed? Without Maya coming into my life, anybody looking for me now would probably find me inside my office or at the hangar– working as if there was no tomorrow– and perhaps, still sulking, cranky, irritable, lonely, depressed, hopeless and as Maya had once put it, on Tiger mode! (But who can fight destiny? Fate has given us various opportunities to cross each other’s paths. We were truly destined to meet and fall in love.)

***

At Alex’s mausoleum

Richard to Alex: (Holding Maya’s hand) She’s the one I was telling you about.  The one who made me fall in love again…

***

Thank you, dear Lord, for allowing Maya to come into my life. She is now the deepest desire of my heart. The love of my life. My heaven on earth. The rarest of all my finds. My life. My happiness. My strength. My stress tab. My lousy cook. My silly attorney. My beautiful coffeemaker. My North Star. My soulmate. My bestfriend. My destiny. My greatest love. My sanctuary. The voice in my head. My soon to be wife. Mother of my children. My beloved Mrs. Lim. The woman I’ll be spending my whole life with. Undeniably, the best thing that ever happened to me.

Life is indeed full of surprises. I never thought I would fall in love again.  Then Maya and I met and love happened. In Maya, I finally found all the answers. Why Alex had gone too soon. Why I experienced a pain and brokenness like no other. Why Abby lost her voice. Why Nikki’s fears and insecurities kept her away from me despite her earnest wish and numerous attempts to keep all of us close together. Why Luke and I fought and argued countless times in the past. All that had to happen because Maya was destined to come into our lives and like magic, make everything all right.

My questions have been answered and my heart is full of gratitude. Yes, everything led me to her. I am exactly where I want to be– with Maya, the only woman who will forever hold my heart and the only woman who can ever complete me.

Yes, Maya is indeed the One!

Maya, our fairytale becomes real starting tomorrow as our journey to our happy ever after begins. And just in case hindi ka pa rin makapaniwala that we’re already married after we exchange I do’s, you can always pinch me all you want, Attorney! Until you finally believe that we are indeed Mr. & Mrs. Richard Lim. Hahaha!

Japan, here we come!!! Are you ready for the snow, Mrs. Maya Dela Rosa Lim? I know I am. *wink *wink

No more worries, Mrs. Lim! Kalma lang.  I’ll show you na hindi ka lugi sa kin! I’ll be the best husband in town! (I can’t believe I said those. I’m starting to sound like you, Maya!)

Maya, I LOVE YOU, okay? Never, ever forget that. I am going to make you a very happy woman. I promise you that!

***

Abby: Then what happens after that, Daddy? Kasi lahat ng fairytales nang narinig kong story ganyan yung ending.

Richard: Iba-iba, baby.

Abby: Eh yung Mahal na Hari at yung Mahal na Prinsesa?

Richard: Well, yung Mahal na Prinsesa naging Mommy na siya nung prince and the little princesses.

Abby: Kasi Queen na siya?

Richard: Yes, baby.

Nikki smiles as she listens intently to the exchange between her Dad and Abby.

Abby: Yehey!

Richard: And yung King sobrang happy kasi magkaka-baby na sila ng Queen.  Baby boy!

Abby: Ibig sabihin Daddy magkakaroon na ko ng baby brother?  I mean, yung prinsesita magkakaron na ng baby brother?

Richard: Not right away, baby. But who knows, right?

Abby: Yehey!

Luke joins Richard, Nikki and Abby in bed not soon after.

***

This is no longer a fairytale, Maya. This is real.  WE MADE IT REAL…

~*~

Other Works by this author:

Why Maya is the One

Maya is Heaven Sent

Dor-Bel & Joma: Si Maya

Happy Birthday, Cowboy Chief!

Happy Birthday, Son!

Before He Proposes

Before He Proposes (version 2)

Dor-Bel: Chika Mode On

Before They Marry

 

Letters:

(1) From Daddy with Love

(2) From Luke with Love

(3) From Abby with Love

(4) From Nikki with Love

(5) From Maya with Love

(6) From Sir Chief with Love

(7) From Liza with Love

(8) To Ate Maya with Love

(9) From Manang Fe with Love

(10) To Ricky with Love

(11) From Ricky with Love

(12) To Chard, From Rafi with Love

(13) To Mommy with Love

(14) To Sir Chief, From Maya with Love

(15) From Papa with Love

(16) From Mamang with Love

(17) From Nanay with Love

(18) From Kute with Love

 

A Journey to Love and Forever:

Parts 1-4  

Graduation Day

Let the Love Begin

Finally Found Someone

When Richard Fell in Love with Maya (A Love Story Written in the Stars)

Parts 5-6   

The Ballad of Nanay Teresita’s Heart

Maya’s Bonus: Superman

Parts 7-8   

Lim Kids, There’s Something About Richard and Maya

Truly, Deeply, Madly

Parts 9-10

Can We Just Stop and Talk a While? (Ang Love Story ng Mahal na Hari at ng Mahal na Prinsesa)

What’s in a Name? (Biko, Buko, Chiko… Haay naku, Maya!)

Parts 11-12

Forevermore, Ser Chief

Richard’s Bonus: SuperMom (For Maya, it will always be the Lim kids’ happiness before hers…)

Parts 15-17

To Ser Chief with Love… You’ve Got Mail, Maya

A Few Good Men

A Family Thing

Part 18: Love Happens

Part 19: Family Matters

Part 20: Never Gonna Give You Up

Part 21: He’s the Man

Part 22: Daddy’s Girl

Part 23: The Good Vibes are Back!

Part 24: A Monthsary to Remember

 

*******

Disclaimer:  I do not own the creative minds behind ABS-CBN’s Be Careful with My Heart TV show. This creative endeavor is just for fan fiction purposes. The characters are ABS-CBN’s BCWMH TV show’s sole property.

Allow me to acknowledge and thank BCWMH’s brilliant Creative Team as some of the scenes and lines mentioned in this piece were taken from the TV series.

21 thoughts on “Why Maya is the One – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Daddy Chief Tiger Mode ON! Facebook, Twitter, Internet Connection OFF | Excess Baggage

  2. Pingback: One Sweet Surprise | Excess Baggage

  3. Pingback: One Sweet Surprise | My BCWMH Addiction

Whatcha think?

