On Crushes and First Love

A/N: Inspired by last week’s episodes and the January 27 teaser, here goes my take on Nikki and Nicolo’s budding love story.

This piece is dedicated to my friends @angelica, @bymommamee and @Rr36 who kept insisting earlier that I write something. Here it is, girls!

Happy reading, everyone!

Author: iamgarie

~*~

ON CRUSHES AND FIRST LOVE

by iamgarie

Part 1

Nicolo left Richard Lim’s office, the dreaded principal’s office, in the Lim home, with a smile of relief on his face. Though he was scared, tense and anxious during lunch with the Lim family and dreaded facing Richard Lim, the young man left the mansion with a huge grin on his face, hopeful about his fate with Nikki Grace Lim, the girl of his dreams.

His talk with his Tito Richard, Nikki’s dad, was refreshing on many levels. Not only did his Tito Richard question his intentions and feelings for his daughter, he also reminded him to abide by his rules, to wait and not to rush things for him and Nikki, as they are both still young. The words of his Tito Richard echo in his head as Joma drives him back to his house , “… I hope you can wait, though. Okay ka naman, eh, pero bata pa kayo. Relationships require a certain level of maturity, and I don’t think you’re both ready…”

Nicolo’s admiration for his Tito Richard grew in leaps and bounds after their conversation. Nicolo found Richard’s level-headedness, tactfulness and sincerity admirable. For Nicolo, Niknik’s dad has always been the kind of father any kid would be lucky to have. His man to man talk with his Tito Richard made him aspire to be someone like him in the future, a devoted and loving father and husband, a great provider and a respected CEO and engineer in the business community.

Nicolo is now inspired more than ever to prove to Niknik’s dad how serious his intentions are for Nikki. He makes a vow to himself to give his best in his studies so that when the right time comes, he will be worthy for Niknik. As an afterthought, Nicolo says to himself, “Sabi ni Tito Richard, mag-wait and mag-focus sa studies para pagdating ng panahon may mao-offer ako sa taong mamahalin ko. Kakayanin ko, promise. At dito sa puso, sigurado ako, si Niknik ang babaeng yun at wala ng iba!”

At the hospital, Nikki is on the phone with his Tita Mommy. Nikki is anxious to find out how her Dad and Nicolo’s conversation went.

Nikki: Tita Mommy, how was it?

Maya: Nikki, mukhang okay naman. Nang lumabas ang Daddy mo at si Nicolo sa principal’s office, pareho silang nakangiti.

Nikki: Really, Tita Mommy?

Maya: Oo. Di nga tiger mode ang daddy mo, eh. Pinahatid pa nga niya si Nicolo kay Kuya Joma pauwi sa bahay nila, eh.

Nikki: Oh my gee, Tita Mommy, really? What did they talk about po?

Maya: Naku, Nikki, hindi ko din alam. Pero mukha namang naging maayos pag-uusap nila, kaya wag ka na mag-alala.

Nikki: Okay, Tita Mommy! Thankie!

Maya: O sige, magpahinga ka na. Tama na muna pag-iisip kay Mallows, okay?

Nikki: Yes, Tita Mommy! Promise!

Maya: Mamaya bibisitahin ka namin diyan ng Daddy mo. O, eto na muna si Abby, nami-miss ka na daw. Mag-usap muna kayo…

Part 2

That same night at the masters’ bedroom, Richard and Maya lie side by side each other as they get ready to sleep. Maya’s head rests comfortably on Richard’s wide chest…

Maya: Mahal?

Richard: Yes?

Maya: (Faces Richard, her left hand on his right chest) Antok ka na ba?

Richard: (Faces Maya, as well) Di pa naman. Why?

They both sit up, and with Richard’s hand still resting on Maya’s shoulders, both lean against the headboard.

Maya: Curious talaga ako. Sabi mo kanina di mo pinayagan si Nicolo na makipagkita muna kay Nikki…

Richard: Yes.

Maya: Eh bakit parang okay lang sa kanya? Ngiting-ngiti pa siya nung lumabas ng office mo. Anong sinabi mo sa kanya?

Richard: Na okay siya. Not only is he Luke’s bestfriend, but a friend of our family’s. I told him that I have rules and he has to follow them. I also told him to wait and not to rush things. I reminded him that relationships require a certain level of maturity, and I don’t think he and Nikki are both ready.

Maya: Hihi!

Richard: O, why?

Maya: Ewan ko ba, pinakilig mo na naman ako Mr. Lim (lifts her head and kisses him on the mouth)

Richard: O, bakit? What was that for?

Maya: Hihi! Basta! Sige na, tuloy mo na kwento mo.

Richard: I also told him na baka in two years, he’ll change his mind and find another girl to like.

Maya: Ano naman sagot niya?

Richard: Hindi daw. Si Nikki lang daw. I told him that I want both him and Nikki to allow themselves to grow and mature, to be certain of who they are first, so they’ll both be ready to commit themselves to a relationship, not necessarily with each other, when the right time comes. Sabi ko pa, he and Nikki should focus on their studies muna so they’ll have something to offer sa taong gusto nila. Ater I said that, I saw determination on his face. And sabi pa niya, gagawin niya lahat para maging karapat-dapat daw for Nikki. And honestly, Mahal, I think he can. He’s a good kid.

Maya: Naku, totoo yan, Mahal! Nakakatuwa naman yang si Nicolo. Di lang gwapo at ubod ng lambot at pula ng pisngi, talagang kahanga-hangang bata pa!

Richard: (Smirks) What?!?

Maya: (Touches his face with both her hands and kisses him again) Pero siyempre naman, Mahal, wala nang papantay sa kagwupuhan mo! Hihi! The best ka talaga, Mahal! Hihihihi!

Richard: O, bakit na naman?

Maya: May bigla lang kasi ako naalala… Parang lahat nang pinangaral mo kay Nicolo based on experience.

Richard: Ha?

Maya: O, diba, parang ikaw lang yan nung niligawan mo ko?

Richard: (Smiles) How so?

Maya: Di mo ko minadali o binigla kasi alam mo na… basta alam mo na…

Richard: (Smiles) Na you’ve never had a boyfriend?

Maya: Oo… Pinabayaan mo din muna akong kilalanin mabuti ang sarili ko at tuparin ang mga pangarap ko bago ang lahat. Pero di mo lang alam, konting ngiti mo lang sa kin kahit nung kararating ko pa lang sa mansyon, kilig na kilig na ko sa yo! Haha!

Richard: I know! Crush mo kasi ako. Kaya nga wala kang ginawa kundi singhot-singhutin ako, diba?

Maya: (Chuckles) Nakakainis ka! Pero totoo yun. Ang bango-bango mo kasi! Haha!

Richard: But there’s something I’ve been meaning to ask you. When did you realize na crush mo ako?

Maya: (Smiles) Mahal, naalala mo nung nanakawan tayo sa lumang bahay tapos tumira tayo sa hotel?

Richard: (Nods)

Maya: Nung nandun tayo sa hotel nun ko na-realize na crush na pala kita. Di mo ba napansin na panay ang iwas ko sa yo ng mga panahon na yun? Takot na takot kasi ako na baka malaman mo tapos tanggalin mo ko sa trabaho. Hihi!

Richard: (Smiles) Continue…

Maya: Kaya lang, ibang klase ka din talaga. Maya’t maya, ako tinatawag mo para tulungan ka… Wala ka ding ginawa kundi mas pakiligin pa ako kahit di mo sadya. Alam mo bang nung nalaman kong ikaw nagbigay ng unan para sa kin nung sinamahan ko sina Abby sa kwarto nila ni Nikki, di mawala ngiti ko nun. Gustong-gusto ko ngang iuwi yung unan na yun nun, eh. Pinigilan ko lang sarili ko. Tapos may time pa na karga-karga ko si baby tapos nag good night kiss ka sa kanya, diba halos matumba na ko dahil sa pag-iwas sa mukha mo na halos dumampi na sa mukha ko nung nag-kiss ka kay baby. Haha! Grabe ka kasi magpakilig, eh!

Richard: (Smiles and gives kisses Maya butterfly kisses on the neck before capturing her lips for one sweet kiss)

Maya: (Giggles) Naguluhan pa nga ako nung umpisa kung anong ibig mong sabihin sa pag-kiss sa pisngi ko nung prom, pati yung mga regalo mo nung umpisa, di ko maintindihan ano meaning. Hihi! Maging si Emman mabaliw-baliw sa pag-iisip kung bakit mo ko binigyan ng champorado package, ng bookbelt and pepper spray. Haha! Pero salamat ha.

Richard: For what?

Maya: Kasi ang galing, eh! Naghintay ka at naging medyo matagal paghihintay mo. Hihi. Hindi ka sumuko, Mahal! Sobra mo pinaramdam sa kin kung gaano mo ko kamahal! Nung tayo na, pinaramdam mo naman sa kin kung gaano ako kaswerte kasi mahal na mahal mo ako at kaya mong ipaglaban ang pagmamahal natin sa kahit ano o sino pa mang hahadlang. Parang perfect ang timing mo sa lahat. Alam mo na ready na ko everytime may gusto ka itanong. Nung nag propose ka tuloy, handang-handa na ko! Ang galing mo talaga, Mahal!

Richard: (Smirks) That’s what loving you taught me. And that’s what I want to teach Nicolo, too! To be patient and to persevere and to prove himself worthy in front of the woman he loves!

Maya: Parang ikaw lang?

Richard: (Smiles, shrugs his shoulders and purses his lips) Yes, Mahal!

Maya: Kung iisipin mo, Mahal, yung kay Nikki at Nicolo, parang tayo lang din.

Richard: What do you mean?

Maya: Nung una inis na inis ka sa kin! Gigil na gigil ka sa galit pag nangungulit na ko! Haha! Diba ganun din si Nikki kay Nicolo nun! Kulang na lang ipagtabuyan siya ni Nikki dito sa bahay? Haha! Tapos parang tayo, na-develop lang din sila. Unexpected pero nangyari! Haha!

Richard: Well, you do have a point there. Ang kulit mo kasi. You not only became the voice in my head but the woman I fell in love with… The woman I will always be in love with! Can I let you in on a secret, Mahal?

Maya: Secret? Ano?

Richard: (kisses her on the mouth for a full minute and gives Maya his heart-stopping bedimpled smile) I’ve been meaning to kiss you that way since the night I brought you home after we had our first date kahit na we feasted on balut! Haha! I even wanted to punch Emman when he suddenly came out of nowhere and that kiss did not happen!

Maya: Hihi! Talaga, Mahal? Naka-smile ka kaya nun!

Richard: Oo, Mahal! Pero what I really wanted to do was punch him then. Haha! Kasi naman, diba…

Maya: Ako di naman, eh, nabitin! Haha! Bakit di mo kasi tinuloy? Kala mo yata, di ako ready! Haha! Naku, Mahal! Maiiyak na naman yata ako sa pag-reminisce natin ng nakaraan! Hihihi! Mahal na mahal na mahal kita, Mr. Lim! Ang swerte ko kasi mahal na mahal mo ko!

Richard: Mrs. Lim, you just don’t know how happy you have made me by coming into my life and making me happy and whole once again! Between the two of us, I consider myself luckier and more blessed, because you graced my life with your presence… because you came when I needed you most. You are God’s best gift, Mahal!

Maya: Awww! Mahal! Ikaw na talaga, ang pinaka sa lahat ng bagay! Sobrang mahal kita!

Richard: I love you more, Maya. And I always will…

Richard and Maya share a heartwarming smile and a lingering kiss before they finally doze off to sleep.

Part 3

Donya Esmeralda comes home from China the following day to help take care of her granddaughter, Nikki. While Richard, Maya and Abby go to the hospital for Maya’s regular check-up and scheduled ultrasound, Donya Esmeralda and Luke take Nikki home from the hospital.

A couple of days later, Nikki is excited to finally be back in school. Amiel, Stacy and all her friends are happy to have her back, of course. Aware that she did miss quite a lot during her absence, Nikki used all her vacant and study periods to approach her teachers and request for make up work. When the last class for the day came and it was finally time for her WesTeatro meeting, Nikki could only look forward to going home and taking a much needed rest before dinner with the family.

Unknown to Nikki, Nicolo snuck inside their school premises during Club time and headed to the classroom were she held her meetings for Westeatro. When Nikki saw Nicolo discreetly waiting by the door, she excused herself from the group and asked Stacy to take over their meeting. She approaches Nicolo and leads him to the adjacent vacant room.

Nikki: (Looks scared) Oh my gee, Nicolo! What are you doing here?

Nicolo: Gusto lang kita makita.

Nikki: Diba I said sa phone not to worry na. I’m okay na. So go na before someone sees us together.

Nicolo: Niknik, nagpunta lang naman ako para magpaalam. Nagkausap na kami ni Tito Richard at nag-promise ako sa kanya na hindi kita liligawan ngayon dahil bata pa tayo pareho pero maghihintay ako ng tamang panahon — yung handa na tayo at parehong mature na. And nag-promise din ako na hindi muna ako makikipagkita sa yo.

Nikki: (Runs towards him, gives him a hug, much to his and her surprise) I miss you, Nicolo!

Nicolo: Ako din, Niknik. Miss kita and paniguradong mami-miss kita ng sobra. Pero tama naman si Tito Richard, eh. Kelangan muna natin kilalanin mabuti ang sarili natin at mag-mature pa.

Nikki: I know. I talked with Daddy, too! And he’s right. We should wait muna. And alam mo, even before Dad said that naman, I promised myself na, that I will not be distracted by boys muna. I’ll focus on my studies muna like what Tita Mommy did. Daddy was her first love, you know.

Nicolo: Ganun ba? Wag kang mag-alala Niknik, hindi kita mamadaliin. Kaya kong maghintay kasi pakiramdam ko di lang kita basta crush, alam ko…

Nikki: Enough na, Nicolo. I don’t want to hear anymore. I’ll be okay. You’ll be okay. Let’s forget about all these muna and focus on the things that should matter at this time. School and our dreams. Sige na. Go na.

Nicolo: (Smiles at Nikki one last time) Sige, Niknik! Promise ko sa yo, gagalingan ko sa school! Tatalunin ko pa si bespren kung gusto mo.

Nikki: Haha! Whatever, Nicolo! You’re silly! Sige na. Go na. Club time will end soon and dadating na si Kuya and si Kuya Joma in a few minutes!

Unknown to both Nikki and Nicolo, Amiel was hiding right outside the door of the adjacent classroom where they were talking, intently listening to their conversation. Before Nicolo and Nikki headed outside the adjacent classroom, Amiel stealthily went back to the WesTeatro room right before Nikki did. When Nikki took over the meeting again, Amiel stared at the object of his affection with a smile on his face and thought to himself, “Nikki, it isn’t just Nicolo who’s willing to wait for you no matter how long it takes. Me, too. And now that I know that you and Nicolo are not officially together and won’t be officially together anytime soon, I’ll be a friend to you, too! Who knows, in time, I may just be the kind of guy you may fall in love with!”

Disclaimer: I do not own the creative minds behind ABS-CBN’s Be Careful with My Heart TV show. This creative endeavor is just for fan fiction purposes. The characters are ABS-CBN’s BCWMH TV show’s sole property.

Allow me to acknowledge and thank BCWMH’s brilliant Creative Team as some of the scenes and lines mentioned in this piece were taken from the TV series.

11 thoughts on “On Crushes and First Love

  1. Hay story of Maya and Sc nakakakilig… Pati ako napa back to memory lane din eh… Now Nicnik love story isa pang nakakakilig…

Whatcha think?

