Beauty and Madness – part 9

Continuation of Beauty and Madness – part 8.

There’s sunshine after the rain.

Richard arrived at New York late in the afternoon. His parents and sister were waiting for him at the airport.

Rafi: Kuya….

Rafi welcomed him with a big hug.

Richard: Namiss kita little sis.

Rafi: Excuse me! Stop calling me little sis. I’m a grown up now.

Richard: Hi Ma, Pa!

Esme: I miss you son.

Roberto: Kamusta sa Pinas?

Richard: Ok naman po. ‘Yung business na iniwan sa akin ni Ryan doing good.

Rafi: Maybe we can go home first. Para I can get my pasalubong na!

Richard: Pasalubong? Wala akong dala.

Rafi: What? Kuya, ang sama mo ha! Hindi mo dinala yung paborito ko?

Richard: I’m just joking. Nasa luggage ko.

Rafi: Thanks, you’re the best talaga.

When they arrived at their house, they ate early dinner right away.

Rafi: Kuya, ako na mag-ayos ng gamit mo ha!

Richard: Sige, salamat. Kunin mo na yung mga suman mo diyan. Ilagay mo agad sa freezer yung iba.

Rafi: ok.

Roberto: I want to stay here with you kaya lang I need to rest.

Esme: Sige na honey! At matulog ka na. Mag-uusap lang kami ni Richard.

Richard: Good night Pa!

Esme: When we talked over the phone, you told me you gonna say something?

Richard: mamaya na Ma! Ano ba talaga bakit pinapunta nyo ko dito?

Esme: I miss ypu. We miss you.

Richard: ‘Yun lang?

Esme: Well, Rafi wanted to go to Philippines.

Richard: And?

Esme: I wanted you to be with her.

Richard: Ma! ‘Yun lang?

Esme: Oo, yun lang.

Richard: I came all the way here, para samahan ko si Rafi. I thought you have  a serious matter here.

Esme: Like what?

Richard: Me, being a bachelor.

Esme: And that one also. You want to talk about it? Are you seeing someone?

Richard: Wala pa. But I have a friend and I like her. No! I think I’m in love with her.

Esme: And? Do you make any moves?

Richard: Supposedly. I was about to tell her but…

Esme: NAhiya ka?

Richard: Kind of.

Rafi: E kuya torpe ka pala eh!

Richard: I just want to make sure, that’s it. And besides, she’s a really good friend. Ayoko naman na after ko sabihin magiwasan kami.

Rafi: What do you think ba? Can’t you feel baka may gusto din sya sa’yo.

Richard: I doubt it. Her ex married another woman more than  a year now. I’m really not sure if nakamove-on na talaga sya or she’s just saying she’s ok now.

Rafi: Kuya, did you ever try to tell her? DI ba hindi? How would you know if you’re not gonna tell her.

Richard took a small box out of his bag.

Rafi: Kuya, ang ganda naman nito. Is this for her? What’s her name?

Richard: Maya

Esme: you will propose to her?

Richard: I wanted to.

Rafi: Iba ka din ano? Hindi mo pa nga nasasabi na gusto mo sya. Hindi ka pa nanliligaw. Proposal agad? And how can you be so sure, she will say yes to you?

Richard: She will. I asked her before what if that girl rejects me ang sbi nya ligawan ko ulit. If I truly love that person, I’m going to continue to court her.

Rafi: Awww! So sweet. E kasya ba naman sa kanya yung singsing?

Richard: Of course! Siya ang isinama ko when I ordered that ring.

Rafi: Oh-my-gee!

Esme: I’m hoping Maya will say yes.

Richard: Sana nga Ma!

Rafi: Ma, dapat kay Kuya magkalakas ng loob magsalita. E tameme naman.

Richard: You know what, instead of discouraging me, turuan mo na lang ako ng sasabihin ko sa kanya.

Rafi: I’m ok with that.

Esme: Hay naku! Sige na. Maiwan ko na kayong magkapatid ditto.

Rafi suggested many things to Richard. Her plan: How to propose to a girl 101? It’s past midnight when they finished their conversations. He went to his room and grabbed the homephone.

Maya: sino kaya’to? Ahmmmm, hello!

Richard: Hello to the most beautiful Sungit in the world.

Maya: Kulit!!!

Richard: Aray! Sakit sa tenga naman ng tili mo.

Maya: Ay! Malakas ba? Sorry. Ngayon ka lang dumating?

Richard: nope, kanina pa. Sorry, I didn’t call you right away. Nag-usap pa kami nila Mama.

Maya: Kaya ka pinapunta diyan!

Richard: Sort of. And I told them about the girl and I showed them the ring.

Maya: Nakuha mo na? Ang daya ah hindi ko naman nakita.

Richard: I’ll show it to you when I get back.

Maya: Ok, sige. Kulit madaling araw na diyan. Get some sleep.

Richard: I will. So pano? I’ll update you na lang.

Maya: Ingat ka diyan. Bye.

-*-*-*-*-*

The day went so fast. Too many orders for cheesecakes that made Maya busy.

NT: Nak kumain ka na.

Maya: Sige po papahinga lang muna ko.

While she was sitting on the couch, she heard someone is calling her outside.

Maya: Si James! ANong ginagawa nyan ditto?

James: Maya, mag-usap naman tayo kahit sandali lang.

Maya: Ano pa bang pag-uusapan natin? Wala na!

James: Please give me another chance.

Maya: Chance: Matagal nang wala.

James: I already filed an annulment.

Maya: I don’t care. Kahit ilang beses ka pang magfile wala akong pakialam. So stop this craziness.

James: I love you Maya.

Maya: Well! I don’t. I love Richard.

James: He’s not your boyfriend. You guys lied to me. Akala mo hindi ko malalaman. He’s just a business partner.

Maya: So!? Is there anything to you? Oo, hindi ko sya boyfriend. Pero hindi naman sinabi na masamang mahalin ang tao.

James: You love me first.

Maya: You hurt me the most. And please lang, stop bothering me.

James: NO!

Maya: Umalis ka na ditto.

James: Tell me you love me.

Maya: How could you? I told you already I love Richard. Gusto mo tagalugin ko para maintindihan mo.Mahal ko si Richard. Mahal na mahal. Hindi ko sya ipagpapalit sa isang tulad mo. Makakaalis ka na.

James: Please Maya, I beg you.

Kute: Bunso, sino ba yan? … Ang kapal din ng mukha mo eh noh? Pagkatapos ng ginawa mo sa kapatid ko may gana ka pang magpakita. Tigilan mo na sya.

James: Cris, ang gusto ko lang naman bumalik sya sa akin. Mahal na mahal ko pa din si Maya.

Kute: hindi mo ba sya naintindihan hindi ka na nya mahal. PAg hindi ka pa umalis, ipapabarangay talaga kita.

James: Please…

Kute: Nakakaawa ka James. Pero hindi ka naawa sa kapatid ko sa ginawa mo sa kanya. Tapos ngayon eto ka,

James: Gusto ko ngang maayos yung sa aming dalawa.

Maya: Wala na tayong dapat ayusin. Kung anuman meron tayo noon, wala na yun ngayon. Umalis ka na. And don’t even try to come back. Wala ka ng babalikan dito.

James left. He realized the mistakes he did. The woman who loved him before, is now a totally different woman. Mga panahong nasayang. He had pleasures for quite some time but ended up with miseries.

Kute: Bunso, totoo ba ‘yung narinig ko kanina?

Maya: Alin dun?

Kute: Yung sinabi mo?

Maya: Alin dun? Ang dami kong sinabi eh!

Kute: ‘yung tungkol kay Richard!

Maya: E kasi Kute,

Kute: uy! Si bunso lumalove life.

Maya: Naman eh!

Kute: Kailan pa?

Maya: Hindi ko alam. Basta paggising ko isang araw, gusto ko sya ‘yung una kong itetext. ‘Yung Masaya pag magkasama kami. ‘yung mga simpleng bagay or gestures nya na nagpapakilig sa akin. ‘Yung thoughtfulnes nya. Yung pag-aalaga nya sa kin. ‘yun nga lang hindi naman ako ang gusto nya?

Kute: May nililigawn sya?

Maya: Wala pa. Pero malapit na. Bumili na nga ng singsing eh!

Kute: Proposal agad?

Maya: Parang ganun na nga.

-*-*-*-*-*-*-

Esme: Rafi, mag-iingat ka dun ha! Makikinig kalagi sa Kuya mo. Richard, ang kapatid mo ha!

Richard: Yes Ma!

Esme: Balitaan mo ko about sa proposal mo ha!

Ricahrd: I will. Sige Ma, Pa alis na kami. MAg-iingat po kayo ditto.

Rafi: Bye po.

-*-*-*-*-*-

When Richard and Rafi arrived at NAIA, they rented a cab. Hindi kasi sila masundo ni Maya for she has so many orders to make.

Rafi: Kuya, I’m so excited to see Maya.

Richard: Call her Ate Maya.

Rafi: ok,

Ricahrd: I’ll just call her.

Sa sobrang busy ni Maya, hindi nya namalayan na nagriring ang phone nya…

Richard: Hindi sinasagot eh baka busy. Mamaya na lang.

Rafi: malayo pa ba?

Richard: Malapit na tayo. In 5-4-3-2 and 1. Here we are.

Rafi: Wow! Ang ganda ng bahay mo ah!

Ricahrd: Of course. Bitbitin mo ang mga gamit mo ha!

-*-*-*-*-

It’s already past lunch nang natapos si Maya.

Maya: Bakit kaya hindi pa tumatawag si Richard?… Naku! May tawag pala ako, nakasilent kasi tong phone ko eh..

She dialed his number…

Richard: hi Sungit! Miss me?

Maya: ya! I miss your call.

Ricahrd: Funny. So what’s up? I was trying to reach you. Busy ba?

Maya: Medyo, Daming orders eh! I’ll pass by tomorrow I’ll bring your favorites.

Richard: Ok, And I want you to meet my…

Hindi pa natatapos magsalita si Richard…

Maya: Kulit, sige ibaba muna kita ha, may gagawin pa ko eh.

Ricahrd: OK! I’ll see you tomorrow?

Maya: Ya. I’ll pass by sa shop mo.

Maya thought that Richard will introduce his girl. But we all know that it’s not. It’s Rafi he wanted her to meet.

The following morning…

Maya: Ang hirap naman! Excited ka na dumating sya tapos ano, ipapakilala lang nya sa’yo yung girl. Eto na nga bang sinasabi ko eh! But Maya, nagsabi ka na na dadalan mo sya ng mga favorites nya sog awin mo na lang.

She drove to Ricahrd’s shop. As soon as she enters, she saw Richard and a girl hugging each other. Ricahrd noticed her.

Richard: There you are.

Maya: Iwan ko lang ‘to. Aalis na ko. I have meeting to attend to. Sige maiwan ko na kayo.

She gave a fake smile to both of them.

Richard: Wait Sungit! Sandali lang.

Maya: Sige na bumalik ka na dun.

Ricahrd stil troubled. Hindi nya alam bakit change of mood si Maya.

Ricahrd: Teka muna! Can we talk for a second?

Maya: I really need to go.

Richard: Ok fine, tomorrow. I’ll go to your shop.

Maya: Baka hindi kita maasikaso dun. Marami akong gagawin.

Richard: Is it too much to ask a little bit of your time? I just want you to meet my sister?

Maya: Sister? (She turned and look at Richard.)

Richard: ‘Yung kayakap ko kanina. Naglalambing kasi.

Maya: Your sister.

Richard: Yes! My sister. Or maybe kung hindi ka pagod, tomorrow let’s have a dinner together.

Maya: Ok. Sa dinner na lang. I really need to go, Late na ko. Bye!

Richard: I’ll call you later.

While Maya was driving her car, she couldn’t help it but to smile.

Maya: Kapatid naman pala eh! Akala ko yun na! nakakahiya ka Maya.

Crazy In Love – part 24

Note: This is a continuation to Crazy In Love – part 23.

Author: Hanah6181

~*~

Chapter 24

For the past three days, everything was going well with the two. While no one spoke about their feeling for each other, it felt like there was a mutual understanding between the two of them. They felt that there was a big chance of winning back each other’s love and hope that their respective 3rd parties will be soon out of their lives.

In Maya’s case, she almost forgot how strong her competition was until she saw Summer arrive at their office on Friday before lunch. She was walking on the hallway when Summer was at the opposite end walking towards Richard’s room. She felt anger and jealousy at the same time.

~*~

Summer’s visit was unannounced so Richard was caught off-guard when he saw her enter his room.

“Hi Richard” Summer entered his room and locked it.

“Hi Christina. What brings you here?” Richard stood up and motioned her to sit in his visitor’s sofa. She’s complication that he’s dealt with earlier but she can be stubborn when she wants something.

“Oh, now I’m Christina? Well, I just wanted to visit you. I still can do that right? She responded sarcastically. “You’re not calling me nor visiting me. So, I decided to come here.”

“Well, I think you need to be sensitive to my situation. You know very well that I don’t want to give an impression to Maya that there is still something going on between us.” Richard explained. He stood up from where he was seated and moved near the window, away from her.

Summer was hurt by his words so she lashed out. “Richard, I think you misunderstood me from the last time we discussed. I meant every word I said to you. I won’t give up that easily. You love me, you said so before.
I think you’re just wavering because you are living together. You must be missing me a lot that you are seeking comfort with her and now you think you are in love with her.” She was on the verge of going hysterical. She started moving closer to him.

Richard wasn’t bothered by what she said. He felt indifferent to the emotion she was inciting in him. But, he needed to be straight forward to Christina for her to understand.

“Christina, It took me many years before I moved on after I got separated from her. You know it, I didn’t hide it from you. I admit I said I love you and I did for a while. But when I saw her again, I realized that I’ve always loved her. You should have listened to me when I was in California. It may have taken me long to admit it to myself. Now, I’m trying to work things out with her so I hope you’d understand if we can’t see each other anymore.” He looked at her intently. He didn’t want to be so cold-hearted with her but he needed to be, in order for her to get his point.

After hearing what he said, Christina started to cry and threw herself to Richard.

“But Richard, I can’t let you go just like that…. I love you… I’d die without you…” She said in between tears and holding her chest as if she couldn’t breathe properly.

Richard distanced himself from her. “I’m sorry Christina. I’m sorry if I’m hurting you. And, please don’t repeat the trick you did on me the last time. I won’t stay to take care of you anymore.” Richard said in a serious tone. He was still upset when she tricked him into staying in her hotel room that Friday when she first came to visit him in the office. She threatened that she will kill herself which prompted him to stay overnight with her. That act alone, sealed his decision to break up with her.

“You’re a very nice person deep when you don’t act like this. I’m sure you’ll forget me over time.” He said with finality.

Richard returned to his table as a sign of dismissing Christina. She didn’t budge in her position and continued crying. She must have pushed him to much that he had to say those hurtful words.

Richard would glance at her once in a while feeling sorry for her but he knew in his heart that he has done everything to break up with her amicably but she’s been adamant about it.

After an hour, Christina left. Richard gave out a sigh of relief hoping that that was the last time she would come after him.

~*~

Few minutes after Christina left, Richard went out of his room to check on Maya. He found her in work area staring at her computer. He went towards her to ask if she had taken lunch. He was going to invite her.

“Have you had lunch? Want to join me?” He wanted to be close to her so he pulled a chair to sit beside her.

“Thank you but I have had lunch.” She replied and just glanced at him. She then turned off her laptop and started to clean up her table.

“Huh? Who were you with? Did you have early lunch? One o’clock pa lang ah.” He questioned her. His hand now behind her chair making them closer to each other.

“Sir, nag sandwich lang ako. Also, since it’s Friday, I’m going home early. I’ll file a 1/ day leave.” She still wasn’t looking at him when she responded. She busied herself with finding something inside her bag.

He placed in hard on her arm. “Wait, you’re going home? Why don’t we go together? Can you wait for me? I just have 1 more meeting.” He offered. He wanted to spend time with her and thought the half-day could have been planned better had he known she wanted to leave earlier.

“Ay..wag na. I have to see Emman first. I’ll just see you later.. Bye.” She hurriedly left a confused Richard. He wondered why she was in such a hurry to leave. “Did she see Summer? I hope not. But she seems to be bothered by something.” Were his thoughts.

Richard was unaware that Maya actually saw Summer arrived in their office. The two women saw each other at the hallway when Maya was coming out of ladies room. Summer had the smug look on her face before she entered his office. Maya even heard her lock the door when she passed by his office.

Maya was upset by the whole situation. She couldn’t help but get jealous of the time they were together in a locked room. She timed it. It was more than 1 hour and a lot could have happened in 1 hour in her thoughts. And when Summer left and Richard came to her table as if nothing happened, it made her more upset.
“Aba, parang wala lang. Hindi man lang magpaliwanag ito? Pero, why would he bother to explain, ano bang meron na kami?” She was having an inner conversation and the small voice within her was contradicting herself. She was about to go crazy so she decided to just leave the office.

~*~

Maya and Emman met at Starbucks within an hour after she left LHI office. Emman, as usual, was giving his advise to his friend.

“Hayy, naku. I told you, we will need the plan b execution soon. Iyan lang ang pwedeng maka-match dyan sa Summer na’yan.” Emman said as he was sipping his coffee.

“Emman, parang ang sagwa naman… ako pa kaya ang mauuna. Di ba dapat s’ya ang mag-initiate?”

“Oo, in an ideal situation but in your case, pwede ng ikaw. Para madali ang pag-developan nyo.” Emman emphasized.

“Pero may progress na rin naman. Besides, lagi naman na kaming magkasama.” She justified herself although it didn’t’ remove the feeling of jealousy within her.

“Anyway, Girl do you want to join us tonight? The whole college barkada will be gathering tonight for dinner and then mag-clubbing tayo sa may BGC, sa 7th High. Malapit lang ‘yon sa inyo. Mag-unwind ka muna d’yan sa stress mo. It may do you good.”

“Ayoko nga. Alam mo naman I’ve been avoiding the club circuit lately tapos mag-iimbita ka. At saka nakakahiya naman kay Richard.”

“Hayy, eh di tumawag ka at sabihin mo gagabihin ka. Sige na, sumama ka na. Ikaw lang ang wala sa barkada. At minsan, paisipin mo rin yang si Richard kung saan ka nagpupunta.” Emman coaxed her some more. In the end Maya agreed with an intention to call Richard about her coming home late.
As the two friends still had time to spend, they even went to the beauty salon to have their hair done.

~*~

Back at the LHI office, the men were almost done in their meeting when their discussion topic turned to having drinks that night. Ryan, Richard’s production manager, was leading the planning.

“Okay guys, ano, are we going out tonight? Puro na lang tayo trabaho, minsan it would be good to just go out.” Ryan was persuading his colleagues to join while Richard was quietly observing them.

“Pwede, pero mas maganda kung sama si Boss Richard.” Bryan, one of their engineers, said while looking at the rest of the team signaling them to help convince Richard.

“Oo nga, boss. It will be a good if the whole group joins.” Ryan rode on the invitation and the rest said yes in agreement.

Finally, Richard agreed. “Okay, I’ll go with you but I can’t promise I will stay long. I need to go home early.”

“Alright!” Ryan gave Richard a hi-five. “We’ll go to 7th High sa BGC. Sabi nila maganda ang crowd doon but I haven’t been there myself so let’s see.
“Let’s leave the office by 6 so we can have dinner first.” Ryan dismissed the group.

When Richard and Ryan were alone in the room, Ryan asked him. “Brod, bakit naman hindi ka pwede mag-tagal. Hindi pa nga tayo nakakarating sa place, may plano ka ng umuwi.”

“Ryan, I can’t stay out late nowadays.” Richard’s short reply.

“Bro, ‘yang sagot mo parang sagot ng mga Takusa.” Ryan teased him.

“Anong takusa?” Richard’s question.

“Takot sa asawa. Naku Brod, kung girlfriend pa lang yan ganyan ka na, lalo na pag nagpakasal ka na.” For different reasons, both laughed at Ryan’s comment. Ryan was laughing at his joke to Richard while Richard was laughing because of his long kept secret marriage.

Crazy In Love – part 23

Note: This is a continuation to Crazy In Love – part 22.

Author: Hanah6181

~*~
Chapter 23

On that Wednesday morning, Richard requested Maya to leave her car at home and ride with him to the office. He also invited her to lunch to make up for the dinner date that they were supposed to have. They spent their day both happy like a normal couple. Neither one of them wanted to open a topic that might disrupt their pleasant disposition.
Later that day, Emman called up Maya to check on their progress.

“Well, this morning, he was the one who prepared breakfast. Tapos, nitong lunch nag-invite” Maya shared to her friend.

“Aiyeee, ayan na, malapit ng s’yang bumagsak. Kailangan mag-prepare pa rin tayo for plan b. I’ll send Jason there, paki hintay lang, ha.” Emman excitedly said.

“Ano naman ‘yan Emman? Okay na kami, baka magtuloy-tuloy na ‘to. So..” Maya didn’t want to create another situation which might derail her progress with him.

“Ah basta, wait for him. I’m sure you’ll like my surprise.” Emman was insistent.

As expected, Jason arrived at Maya’s office. He had brought with him a package that looked like a gift. As they spoke at the lobby, Jason was again sweet and solicitous in his actions that anyone who would see them would immediately conclude that they have a relationship. Richard saw them talking at the lobby and felt jealous. Although it hurt, his decision to pursue her was already firm. Although there are competitors now for her love, he will not easily give up.

~*~

Maya opened her gift the moment she entered her bedroom that night. She was shocked with the contents of the package sent by Emman.

She remembered when Jason gave to her the bag, he whispered in her ear “Don’t open in public place. Dapat sa bedroom.” He was smiling mischievously when he handed her the bag. When Maya turned around, she saw Richard observing them. He just nodded to acknowledge them.

She laid down on the bed the 3 pairs of sexy Victoria secret lingerie; a black floral baby doll, a red lace and satin slip and a more conservative satin and lace cami set.

She immediately called up her friend to scold him. “Emman!! Grabe naman ‘tong padala mo!”

“Girl, wala man lang pasalamat? Grabe kaagad? Ang tagal ko kayang namili n’yan. Kung may body lang ako ng katulad sa’yo, bumili ako ng isang dozen para sa akin.” Emman’s response to Maya.

“O sige na nga,Thank you po. Pero, bakit kailangan ko ito? Maisusuot ko ba ito? Parang, nakaka-ilang naman.” She was staring at the 3 sets and cringed at the thought of wearing them. She is used to wearing the more traditional pajamas or cotton night dress and never tried these sexy undergarments before.

“Of course, you can wear them, dear. You better start wearing them para masanay ka. Ika nga, kung pupunta ka sa war, you better be in full battle gear. Di ba sabi ko sa’yo, kung hindi makuha sa dasalan, kukunin mo s’ya sa pisikalan. Pwes, yan ang attire mo.” Emman explained.

“Emman… parang ang nakakailang naman itong suotin. Lalamigin ako nito.”

“Ha,ha,ha, Girl pa naïve ka pa. kakainis ka ha. Syempre, don’t expect that you’ll wear that the whole night… alam mo na. Hi,hi,hi.” Emman was feeling giddy by just the thought of what will happen when she fully utilizes his gift.

Looking at the three pairs, Maya decided to try on the more conservative looking cami set. It looked safer being just a camisole with a pair of short, shorts. When she wore it, the sheer lingerie fitted her well and it actually accentuated her curves as she looked at the mirror. She was about to put away her gift when Richard knocked and spoke outside her door.

“Maya… Maya… there’s a phone call here. Kausapin ka daw ni Mama.”

“Ha? Mommy mo or sa akin?” She clarified as spoke behind the door. She felt a sense of panic. She needed to change her attire to cover herself up.

“Mommy ko… She’s been waiting for you to call her. Can you come out now?” Richard responded.

Hurriedly, she took a bath robe to cover herself. She opened the door and took the cellphone from Richard and sat at the chair in her dressing table.

“Hi Ma, good evening po… Po? Hindi po, nasa kwarto lang po ako while si Richard…eh nasa kitchen.” Maya glanced at Richard who was standing by the door observing her. She continued her conversation with her mother-in-law. She was just checking how she was and when they can visit them in San Nicolas.

After the call, Maya intended to return the phone to Richard. As she handed the phone back to him, the knot on her robe suddenly opened revealing what she was wearing under.

Richard was quick to notice her attire. “Hmm, very nice.” He was grinning as he commented; he looked appreciatively at her chest and her legs that were exposed with the little clothing she had on.

Maya immediately re-tied the knot of her robe; pretending to act calmly.

Richard started to move forward to cover the distance between them. Instinctively, Maya stepped backward. They stared at each other, waiting for the other one to make the next move.

A few seconds more, Maya said. “Excuse me, I’m busy.” She turned around because she could feel herself blushing. It was a sign that he should leave her room. He thought maybe she felt awkward but he needed to make one more comment before he leaves.

“Ah, actually I just wanted to tell you, red one would look good on you.” He pointed at the item in the middle of her bed. Then, he turned around and left her.

It was only then Maya realized that he had seen the lingerie displayed on her bed. She felt more embarrassed by being found out. “Naku, Emman… ikaw talaga!” She murmured to herself as she threw all the items back in the box.

When Richard closed the door, there was a wide grin on his face. In his thoughts, “Hmm, she’d really look good in the red one.” Then, a thought came to his mind. “Looks like she’d like to look sexy in bed. Is she preparing for someone? Well, it better be me in that bed.” He abhorred the thought that it could be someone else. He was getting upset but the earlier scene was making him excited too. So, he turned around to speak to her again.

Knock. Knock
She opened the door. She was now wearing her usual cotton night dress.

“Yes?” Maya asked.

“Ahh… tomorrow, what is your plan? I was thinking of going off- site sa Antipolo, do you want to go with me?” It was the only alibi he could think of. He had just decided that he didn’t want her out of his sight from now on so he thought of bringing her where he would be the following day.

“O sige.” Maya agreed not knowing the hidden agenda of Richard.

~*~

It was the first time that Maya went to Antipolo with Richard. Their Antipolo property development is an upscale single detached modern houses designed for the hilly area. She was met warmly by the construction men as they don’t normally get a female visitor or colleague when they are still in construction phase. She was introduced to the engineers in charge and workers.

Richard was protective of her while they did their rounds of the houses being developed. He made sure it was safe for her to walk around so he never left her side; his hand always ready to support her.

At one point, one of his maintenance men asked him.
“Engineer, si Ma’m Maya ba ang girlfriend mo?” The man waited for his response with interest. He noticed Richard was always beside Maya so she could be someone important to him.

“Ikaw talaga Ben.” Richard just smiled and didn’t respond directly. Ben is one of his well-trusted electrical guy in his site so he was comfortable to ask Richard that question.

“So, hindi ang sagot. “ Ben turned to the engineer supervising them. “ O Jake, pwede mo ng kunin ang phone number ni Ma’m Maya.” Maya was all smiles as she knew they were just teasing her.

It was then Richard thought that one of his men could actually be interested in her. So, he had to make a quick clarification. He said something that he has never said before.

“Ah actually, ex-girlfriend ko s’ya. Pero ngayon, misis ko na. So, sorry guys.” He said proudly as he placed his hand around her shoulder. Maya’s smile quickly disappeared. She was surprised by his sudden public declaration. The men all laughed.

“Ay ganoon po? So Engineer, ‘yung property sa taas eh para….” Ben wasn’t able to finish his sentence because Richard cut him off. He looked at Ben as if telling him to keep quiet.

“O guys, tuloy na ang trabaho. Mauuna na kami para makatapos kayo within schedule.” With that as a parting sentence, Richard led Maya out of the property to go back to their office.

“Richard, why did you tell them that I’m your wife?” She asked curiously.

“Why not? Did you want to give away your phone number?” He countered; his eyebrows furrowed.

“Not really, nagulat lang ako. Di ba may confidentiality clause tayo?”

“Well, I just told them the truth. Another thing, our agreement says we can amend the rules when we deem necessary. So, Maya, I think it’s about time that we review the rules.” He said with his lopsided smile; showing off his bedimpled cheek.

Crazy In Love – part 22

Note: This chapter is a continuation to Crazy in Love – part 21

Author: Hanah6181

~*~

Chapter 22

“OMG, my pink walls! He kissed you?” Emman was surprised when Maya shared to him what happened at dawn on Tuesday. For the second time since they lived together, Richard didn’t go home that night. Maya waited for him until she fell asleep in their sofa. Out of frustration, she called up Emman to vent her feelings the moment she arrived at the office.

“Oo, kaya lang nag-sorry, tapos umalis. Pupunta daw sa site, eh ang aga-aga pa.” Maya spilled the rest of the story.

“Naku, girl, talagang kakainis na kayong dalawa. Anong gagawin mo? Bakit hindi ikaw na lang kaya ang magtapat sa kanya? Para ma-shorten na ang agony mo.” Emman suggested.

“Ayoko nga. Kahit konti, may pride pa naman na natira sa akin. At saka kahit ganito ang set-up namin, minsan masaya naman ako. Kahit papaano, nakikita ko s’ya sa office at sa bahay. Kasama ko s’ya. I don’t think he purposely do things to hurt me. Hindi n’ya alam na mahal ko s’ya , so kanya parang wala lang.”

“Ayy, masokista ka pala. So, ano nga ang plano mo? Di ba sabi mo may girlfriend ng iba?”

“Eh, ngayon nag-iisip ako kung paano ko sa’ya mababawi dun sa Summer na ‘yon. Pero, natatakot din ako kasi masyado ng masakit sa dibdib Emman.”

“Maya! Ako talaga ay naloloka na sa’yo. Ano, mag decide ka. Gusto mo ba o ayaw mo? Babawiin ba? magtatapat ka o ano?” Emman was starting to get upset with her and her ambivalence on what was the next step forward.

“Syempre, gusto ko mabawi. I hope he will realize that he still loves me.” Maya in her soft voice responded. She knew it was a wish.

“Oh now it’s clear. I think I can help you with this. Parang alam ko ang weakness n’yang si Richard mo.” Emman excitedly said.

“Ha? What do you mean?” Maya asked.

“Girl, I’ll send Jason in your office, okay? Basta, whatever he does, mag-cooperate ka lang ha?”

“What? Emman, ano naman ang plano mo? Bakit mo papupuntahin ang boyfriend mo sa office ko?”

Emman laughed. “Dear, we’ll test kung mag-rereact ang jowa mo if he sees a competition. Remember, gwapo si Jason and it’s very difficult to detect that he isn’t straight. So, tingnan natin kung magselos ‘yan si Richard.”

“Eh, paano kung walang effect? Noon alam ko medyo seloso s’ya but I think he has overcome that.” Maya wasn’t sure that the plan will work out. It could further create a distance between them.

“Basta, sumunod ka Maya. If this doesn’t work, we have a plan b. At sa plan b, maghanda ka ng sexy underwear.” Emman declared.

“Ano? Ano naman ang purpose n’on?” Now, Maya was very worried.

“Well, kung hindi sya makuha sa santong dasalan, kukunin mo s’ya sa pisikalan, ha,ha,ha. Girl, don’t be naïve.” Emman ended their conversation in high spirits.

~*~

Later that afternoon, Jason arrived at Maya’s office as expected. The moment he saw Maya, he immediately went to her and kissed her on the cheek while hugging her. Maya saw from the corner of her eye that their receptionist Susan was observing them intently.

Since Maya still needed to pack-up her things, she invited him first in her work station. There, Jason started his special assignment.

“Hmm, where is the target?” Jason whispered in her ear? He walked around the area checking if anyone was within hearing distance.

“Wala, nasa site pa. I’m not even sure kung dadating ‘yon.” She responded. She motioned him to sit beside her.

“Ah ganoon. Anyway, what’s our plan after this? Do you want to meet up with Emman? We can have dinner together?” He offered.

“Siguro next time na lang, uuwi na lang ako.” She replied. Jason took her computer bag and slung it over his shoulder.

When they were at the lobby about the leave the office, Richard arrived.

As three of them looked at each other, Maya had no choice but to introduce Jason to him.

“Hi Richard. Ahh, this is Jason. Jason, this Richard Lim, my boss.” Maya started the introduction.

The men exchanged short pleasantries. Then Richard turned to Maya to ask, “So, are you about to go home?” He was checking on her plan as he felt a strange feeling seeing her with Jason.

“Ah, not yet. I’m having dinner with Jason. May ibibilin ka ba sir?” She asked innocently.

“Nothing urgent. Anyway, I won’t keep you long. Go ahead with your dinner.” Richard’s smile didn’t reach his eyes. He heard Jason say, “Let’s go, sweetie.”

Once the two were out of earshot, he overheard their office receptionist speaking to someone on the phone “Gie, hindi mo nakita, ang gwapo ng sundo ni Maya today… O diba, talagang ang haba ng buhok ng babaing yon.”

Richard’s eyes followed the two; his eyes turned into tiny slits. It was then he admitted that he was jealous again. He felt tiny stabs in his chest when he saw Jason put his hand on Maya’s waist while he seemed to have whispered something in her ear.

~*~

Richard kept on walking back and forth in their living room as he waited for Maya to come home from her dinner. He hated the idea that she was going out with other men. He was interested to know more about the guy she went out with. He knew that this is a different one from the other who also fetched her one afternoon. He decided that he would do something about it.

When Maya arrived past 10:00 p.m., he was already in his room. He was about to go out to greet her, when he heard her phone ringing. Then, he heard her speak to someone.

“Hi… Yes, naka uwi naman ako. Thanks for the dinner, ha. Alright… goodnight too.” Maya sounded happy as she spoke on the phone.

Again, Richard felt those tiny stabs in his heart. In his thoughts, “You have to do something about it now. You can’t just watch and let her slip away.”

The following morning, Maya was surprised when she got out of the bed to prepare their breakfast. Richard was already in the kitchen and was preparing their food. When he saw her enter the kitchen, he smiled at her.

“Good morning. I’ve prepared breakfast.” He was flashing his lopsided smile which caused Maya’s heart to leap.

“Good morning, nagluto ka?” She sat on the chair beside the counter where they usually have breakfast.

“Yeah, konti lang. I just prepared bacon, eggs, French toast. I remember how you like these prepared for breakfast.” He said as he poured milk on her glass. While he was doing that, Maya was smiling with amusement.

He was prompted to ask, “What? Why are you smiling like that?”

“Wala, gusto ko lang mag-smile. Wala naman sa rules na bawal mag-smile di ba?” She asked.

“Wala nga.” Richard responded. They ate their breakfast in a light mood. They would steal occasional glances at each other; their minds having inner conversation.

His thoughts, “This is the start. I hope you don’t reject my moves.”

Her thoughts. “Hmm, effective ba yung nangyari kahapon? Parang sweet n’ya today o baka puro porma lang ito, paaasahin lang ako… Anyway, cute sya ngayong umaga.”

Pasakalye by Zia Quizon